We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful day in Beautiful Charleston S.C.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carolina Polo and Carriage Co.

Carolina Polo and Carriage Co.
181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29464 (Downtown)
(843) 577-6767
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 163 activities in Charleston
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Carolina Polo and Carriage Company is the only carriage company in Charleston owned and operated by Charlestonians whose families have been here since the 1600's.Don't just take a buggy ride, come see the real thing as we show you sights that will leave you breathless and tours that will leave you speechless. Private carriages are available for tours, weddings and other festive occasions.
Gaston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful day in Beautiful Charleston S.C.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I took my family on another trip too Charleston S.C.. We took a ride with on a carriage from Carolina Polo and Carriage Co. It was a great trip! Daniel was our guide the trip was enjoyable and intresting. He's knowledge and speaking wasn't boring. Thanks Daniel. we had a GREAT time. A friend forever, D.E. Hendley jr.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    32
    12
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“So many carriage tours. Don't choose this one.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Most of the carriages all line up together so it's easy so see that there are a variety of companies to choose from. Carolina Polo has a ticket office in the DoubleTree where we were staying so we assumed they were a good company. They're not. The carriage was late and we were all standing around in the sun sweating, waiting for it to pull up as we watched all the other carriages leave on time. Next, they over booked it, and had us all load up anyway so we were plastered up against each other in the heat with absolutely no wiggle room between us to the point that it was extremely uncomfortable. (I'm not exaggerating. It was horrible.) At this point we should have gotten off and taken the next one, but we had just waited 45 minutes to get on and were trying to make the last tour at one of the historic houses. We didn't see one other company's carriage even close to being as overloaded as ours was. What a mistake. Take my advice and go with another company. This one doesn't care about its customers.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent overview of the Holy City!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our tour guide, Daniel, was excellent!

Carolina Polo is THE carriage company to use. They have two history teachers as guides. And they have Daniel, who served as our cruise director (better hair than Julie of "Love Boat" fame but not nearly as cute).

Anyway, Carolina Polo has two former internationally-ranked polo players in Company management and THEY know their horses.

This was actually Daniel's second tour back in the saddle as it were after a hiatus. He's been giving tours in charleston for 24 plus years.

He actually trained the owner in regards to the tours (not the horses!)

Anyway, kudos to Carolina Polo for having such great guides and such loving care for the horses and their well being.


Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Bought tickets at visitors and would not honor for our scheduled. Would not give a refund and rude personnel. Very difficult to talk to and didn't really care if you used their service or not. DO NOT USE

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A must do in Charleston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

What a great way to see some of the most historic and interesting areas of downtown Charleston. Our guide was so knowledgeable and entertaining. It was the highlight of our stay.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolina Polo and Carriage Co. also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Carolina Polo and Carriage Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carolina Polo and Carriage Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Carolina Polo and Carriage Co. to your Saves list