We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meal at Husk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Husk Restaurant

Husk Restaurant
76 Queen St, Charleston, SC 29401-2220
843-577-2500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Husk Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #46 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Occupying adjacent spaces on Queen Street, Husk’s structures date back to the late 1800s. The main dining room, constructed in 1893, evokes the grandeur of Charleston, and speaks to the transformation of the city over time. Victorian details and turned columns were layered over the original Queen Anne-style façade through the years, and the buildings fell into disrepair until discovered by Husk ownership. The Neighborhood Dining Group President David Howard set into a motion an extensive remodeling effort of both. Although both buildings retain their antique charm and stately character, the renovations imbued each with a modern, minimalist theme. Like the reinterpreted food served within, each space has been laid bare, revealing reclaimed floors, original windows, and exposed brick throughout. The main house features an open kitchen with a wood-burning oven and dining room.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice meal at Husk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

I was in Charleston for one night and we decided on Husk for our big night out meal. They have a cool cocktail bar next to their restaurant which I thought was a nice touch. You can go to the cocktail bar first or while you wait for your table. The cocktails were really interesting, but expensive (the way of the world though nowadays with craft cocktails). I enjoyed mine and tried some of my groups and those were good too! The atmosphere is warm and inviting... It was busy for a wet Monday. The restaurant has the same vibe. Our server was attentive and well versed about the dishes. We had a couple apps which were delicious. I had the NC catfish and it was great as well. Prices are high, but it's to be expected. I would come here again, maybe for their brunch next time!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,828 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,041
    420
    243
    78
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Well....Good but Not What I Expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We had dinner at Husk on a Saturday evening. The place was overflowing with locals and tourists. I have read so much about this establishment and I was eager to experience a dinner with fine wine and great service.
First the service; very good. They were attentive, with the hustle and bustle of a place that was eager to serve you and get the table set for the next guests. I must say that the "outfits" of plaid shirts and tan pants were a little too much. I know it's farm to table but really...
The sommelier was excellent. He took time to talk with us and explore what we liked in wine and proceeded to present us with a great bottle that didn't break the bank.
I had the fish entree and it was cooked to perfection. My wife had the chicken and it was.....just chicken.
The food was good but it didn't knock my socks off although I did see most men not wearing socks.
Would I go again.......I don't think so. There are some other great spots in this city and I would give them a try.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“best burger on the planet?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Try the burger, trust me on this. It's worth going just for that. Also tried the cornbread app and the fried pickles. The pickles were a little thick and dry but we ate almost all of them. Very good craft cocktails from the bar as well. Would've been great to sit on the porch. Probably need to make a reservation well in advance for that though. I had only called about a week and a half in advance.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in Charleston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

The service, ambience, and quality of food far exceeded my expectations. I had the Snapper and my boyfriend got the pork shoulder. The clam appetizer was fantastic too. They also have a wide variety of high quality whiskeys and cocktails. What you're getting for the price is incredible.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Visiting Charleston for the first time, we looked for restaurants that would leave an impression. We would have gone to Husk for dinner, but they were booked up. We waited an hour for Sunday brunch, but it was a lovely day and we were escaping cold NY weather so sitting outside wasn't an imposition.

We wanted a relatively light lunch, so we opted for the burger and the monte cristo sandwich. Both were perfectly made with care. The burger is 10% bacon, which gave it a slightly smoky flavor I'm going to copy at home. The monte cristo was like French toast with bacon and eggs all rolled into one. Nothing wrong with that!

The lemonade was fresh and clearly house-made. As was the ketchup.

We could have ordered just about everything on the menu. It was clearly Southern inspired, and the chef clearly loves the South.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Husk Restaurant also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Husk Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Husk Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.