We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing tour thanks to Dennis Stiles” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Charleston Walking Tours

Old Charleston Walking Tours
80 Broad Street, Charleston, SC 29401
843-568-0473
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 195 Activities in Charleston
Type: Walking tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Old Charleston Walking Tours is proud to offer an array of narrated walks that cover the most interesting historical issues and sights in a city known for its turbulent past and unusual beauty. Our guides are the best in the business, with years of research and storytelling experience. They promise the kind of accuracy, insight and enthusiasm that create a delightful touring experience. Let them lead you to Charleston's hidden alleys and tell you what went on behind its closed doors.The daytime walks last approximately two hours. The ghost walks are shorter (and scarier).We go rain or shine. There are no hills. The pace is easy. Please join us. You'll be glad you did!
1 review
“An amazing tour thanks to Dennis Stiles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Dennis Stlies took our group of nine on the most amazing tour of Charleston. Not only was he incredibly informative, but he was so pleasant and unrehearsed. The facts, tidbits and information was shared like it was coming from a friend teaching us about his beloved city. We all enjoyed every moment and now have such a complete understanding and appreciation of the history of Charleston. A meaningful tour from a true southern gentleman!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    40
    10
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southold, New York
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Easy walking tour-not at all difficult.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

This tour was easy and enjoyable.
Dennis took us into the theater, an old church, and down many streets and alleys.
The house at the end of the tour was fascinating--we truly loved the tour and our guide--I would do it again next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Loved the tour and the guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We only had one day in Charleston and guide helped make a combined Civil War/Historic Home tour, which was perfect. The guide was extremely knowledgable and clearly loved the town. As we walked down the street people stopped to say hello to the guide, which was really cool. Would totally do another tour with the company.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“More talking than walking; Informative, excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I really enjoyed my morning History and Homes tour, with a few caveats. First, the tour presents itself as a walking tour, but the first hour and 45 minutes for the tour covered no more than 5 or 6 blocks, which made a square around the main park (Washington Park); further, about 45 minutes of that tour was spent in the park itself. Only the last part of the tour contained about a 5-block additional walk down to the battery/waterfront. The stories told by our tour guide Dennis were excellent and entertaining (and Dennis is as well-informed as of the other reviewers claim that he is), but this tour is better suited for those who don't mind stopping (or sitting) and listening to long orations (it would be great for those with mobility difficulties who can walk, but not walk far). This tour is not at all designed for those looking to cover the city of Charleston with their feet, and, being in the latter category, I was disappointed to spend 2.5 hours covering a small section of the city.

Second, and related, the tour is billed on the website as 2 hours, including an interior of a Charleston home. However, our tour was 2.5 hours *followed by* the interior of the Charleston home, which added an additional 30 minutes, bring the tour to three hours. Thus, the tour is excellent value for your money, but the time length isn't accurately explained on the website, and so those with other engagements might feel time-pressed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollis, NH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice walk through Charleston History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

You can't beat having a local tell you all about the history and architecture of the old city. Self-guided walks just can't give you the person details of many of the sites. Its inexpensive and worth the short 1.5 hours.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Charleston Walking Tours also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Old Charleston Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Charleston Walking Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.