We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Oysters” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pearlz Little Oyster Bar

Pearlz Little Oyster Bar
9 Magnolia Road, Charleston, SC 29407 (Formerly Pearlz Oyster Bar)
843-573-2277
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 735 restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Great Oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

First time here. Had the fried oysters to start. Loved the spicy sauce and the oysters were fried to perfection. Next had a dozen raw oysters, great flavor. Entree was the soft shell fried crab and it was excellent. Waitress was friendly and knowledgable of the menu. Overall great experience.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Little Oyster Bar, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for joining us! We're glad you enjoyed your meal with us. Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    33
    15
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manaus, AM
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Thank the Lord I live in Brazil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I see some people complained about the parking, and others ate steak here. Both of them should never have come., I would walk 5 miles to eat in this restaurant again through a hurricane or a blizzard. This is my first time here, first time in Charleston, asked a graduate student to take me to a good raw seafood restaurant. We stayed there for 2.5 hours eating and drinking. Our waitress with the bird tatoo was so genteel and apologetic, it was her first night waiting a table alone, and was not afraid to say she did not know the wines. We started off with oyster shooters, could have spent the whole night with these, but the orgy of seafood here is too good to pass up. Rebecca the bar manager helped us find a fine white Bordeux, to help us with the deluxe raw 2 story platter, of 3 types of oysters, mussels, clams, shrimp, lobster, scallop ceviche, salmon tartara, crab..........Then a couple dozen more oysters, toll house morsel pie and Irish coffee! If I did not live in Brazil I would put on 100 lb eating here!! Could not complain about anything, except they should have left the saltine crackers off the table and given us linen napkins. Food so fine you wanted to lick the shells, and kiss the waitress when you left you were so happy, sure it cost more than McDonalds, but this is real wonderful food,

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Little Oyster Bar, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to hear you could join us on your trip to Charleston and have a great time. We hope you can make it back one day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Dinner- all the good was excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We ordered fish tacos ( mahi ), shrimp platter, potato parmigian, corn fritters, and strawberry shortcake- all was a must order. Ver nice place, the service was great but just a little dark inside .

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Little Oyster Bar, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“good place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

pearlz in reasonably priced during happy hour. however, it is impossible to find a parking place. it is not worth
going because of the difficulty in parking. but, there is a valet service located on the same block. i used the valet
service and it works.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Little Oyster Bar, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your review! We're happy you could join us at Pearlz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Really Good Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

You might not think "steak" when you hear of "Pearlz Oyster Bar," but you should!

Three of us (parents & adult daughter) dined at Pearlz in early April. The restaurant was crowded, & the wait for a table was 35 minutes. We sat at the bar to wait, & then discovered that we could be served there. The bar tending staff were very nice folks!

We ordered fish (grilled trout, low country fish & chips) & our daughter ordered the Angus NY strip steak. Our fish was delicious, as were the asparagus & green beans. I found the homemade potato chips to be a bit tough & thick, but they were nicely seasoned. Our daughter raved about the steak! She ate every last bite of it. Although she ate little of the Parmesan potato gratin that came with her dinner, she took it home for a midnight snack.

The next time we visit Charleston, we will be sure to return to Pearlz. Our daughter insists on it, as she'll want another of their delicious & tender steaks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thanksfordining, Guest Relations Manager at Pearlz Little Oyster Bar, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for visiting Pearlz Oyster Bar in West Ashley. We look forward to having you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearlz Little Oyster Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Pearlz Little Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearlz Little Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.