We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch fare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barbara Jean's Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

Barbara Jean's Restaurant and Bar
99 South Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)
(843) 637-3635
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Neighborhood: Downtown
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good lunch fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I had a lunch here and highly enjoyed it. Simple, quick and very satisfying!. We both had the she crab soup and crab cakes. No filler in the latter makes them outstanding fare. Waiter was helpful in identifying a local beer that I thoroughly enjoyed with the lunch. The decor is a mix between a diner and a luncheonette. It however does not take away from the food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    56
    47
    17
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Outstanding crab cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

A double-dip of she crab soup and crab cakes and both of them were simply wonderful! Dining alone, I got great service without having the waiter ignore me or give me too much attention.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Breakfast Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was our 2nd trip here for breakfast & it was as wonderful as the 1st. We had the crab cakes benedict, strawberry pancakes, biscuits & gravy & omelets. The crab cakes were huge & were on top of a biscuit instead of an English muffin, covered with hollandaise sauce. Yum!! They also had several drink specials-mimosas, bloody marys, & tequila sunrises for $3. Even though we arrived almost at the end of breakfast service (11:00 am), they still offered us the full breakfast menu. Our server was very friendly & personable & did a great job with our large group of 6 people.

Located next to the Market area, it is easy to pass by this restaurant as it isn't one of those loud, touristy type places that plaster ads all over the place. It is perfectly located to have a nice, quiet breakfast next to one of the best shopping areas in the city. Don't pass it by...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tega Cay, SC
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Crab Cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great crab cakes, and home cooking. Pot roast is very good, like my grandmother made. Family restaurant.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The food was pretty good and drinks were reasonable during happy hour.. She crab soup was very good was well as the coconut shrimp. Try the pecan crusted chicken tenders. The largest tenders I have ever seen. Clean restaurant...although somewhat aged.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbara Jean's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barbara Jean's Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.