We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect dining experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of barbara jeans - CLOSED

barbara jeans
99 South Market St, Charleston, SC
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Indian Trail, NC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Couldn't have asked for any better of a meal! The fried chicken and biscuits were scumptous! Veggies were great, too! Service was great!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    35
    11
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Service and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you like good country food you will like this restaurant. We had the grilled pork chops, which were very moist and tender and the country fried steak which was a thick slice of meat. For desert we highly recomment the Key Lime Tart. It is not overly sweet.
Our server was right there every time our drinks were empty and kept asking if there was anything else he could get for us.
If we sould have been in Charleston longer I'm sure we would have gone back to Barbara Jeans.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Chocolate "stuff"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

You have to go here for the chocolate "stuff". It is heaven for chocoholics. Only downfall is the wait for the one bathroom.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEORIA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice little breakfast place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stumbled upon Barbara Jeans while walking down Market Street and decided to try it for breakfast our last day in town. We were seated right away and service was good. I ordered the Big Biscuit Breakfast sandwich with shrimp, and home potatoes. It was all good and they aren't kidding when they say big biscuit! The shrimp was in patty form which I'd never had but I liked it. I wouldn't say this is the best restaurant every but it was good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Average across the board”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Barbara Jeans was recommended to us. When we arrived we waited a few minutes waiting for someone to seat us. The place was less that half full. When they finally did, they sat us in a booth by the kitchen entrance although there were better seating spots. The service was very slow to start and speed picked up after the beverages came. The attitude was poor throughout. Not rude, just uninspired and flat.

The food was all average. The crab cakes were a disappointment. Not bad, just not exceptional as was expected. She-crab soup could have passed for the potato soup given the similar flavors they had. Cheese grits were very good as was the single wheat roll, small piece of pumpkin bread, and small slice of jalapeño cornbread. 2 of each or an offer for another small basket would have been appropriate. Rest of the food was good. Desserts (peach cobbler and chocolate dessert) were fine.

We left saying we would not go out of our way to eat here again although if in a pinch and nothing else readily available, we may try it again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed barbara jeans also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage barbara jeans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.