We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Footprints Walking Tours

Charleston Footprints Walking Tours
108 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401
843-478-4718
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 195 Activities in Charleston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enchanting historic Charleston comes alive on entertaining and informative walking tours with 7th-generation Charleston native Michael Trouche. Discover stunning architecture, glorious gardens, Civil and Revolutionary War sites, cobblestone streets, wrought iron gates, legendary graveyards, and the local flavor of the fabled “Holy City” that no one knows better than Michael, who grew up in the famous "South of Broad" area, and has written two popular books on Charleston, where his family has lived for more than 215 years. Michael won numerous prestigious awards as host of the acclaimed "Carolina Camera" television program for 20 years on the local Charleston CBS affiliate, and has charmed tour guests for 10 years with his unparalleled knowledge of South Carolina's history, culture, plants and animals, as well as colorful insights, locations and anecdotes that only a lifelong Charleston native would truly know.
Stocksfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Michael was very informative, providing a great introductory historical background to Charleston, the Carolina's andrevolutionary and civil wars which dispelled many myths I'd come to believe - great job Michael and thanks

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    860
    53
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great tour, do it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This guy knows his topic backwards. Normally I start to lose it on tours of more than an hour but Michael, the owner operator, gives about a one minute discourse on each topic before moving on to the next point of interest 50 yards down the street. Yes it did feel like we covered over 100 places, but I would have been happy to carry on for more than the two hours. This is the only walking tour we did so I cannot compare this tour with others, but believe me, you will not be disappointed, the back streets of Charleston just drip with charm and Michael knows all the stories to go with it. $20 well spent

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
1 review
“This Is the Tour You Want to Choose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour. Michael, the tour guide, grew up in Charleston and has great first hand knowledge of the city. I have been on many walking tours and this is one of the best. Filled with interesting facts that only a true pro would know. His high rating is truly deserved.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Just do it. No regrets.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

If you don't have a local 7th generation friend here, don't worry. Just hire Michael to share his knowledge and insider point of view. Loved this tour!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of Charleston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Micheal Trouche provided a great two hour trip through the laneways and highlights of Charleston south of Broad. He is, as others note, a walking encyclopedia of Charleston's houses, history and people. A member of one of the historical societies in Charleston we learned when asking about Pinckney Castle. If anything, the two hour walking tour was too short; but we left having seen and heard things about Charleston that we would not have otherwise learned!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Footprints Walking Tours also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Footprints Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Footprints Walking Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.