We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would try another tour company next time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ghosts of The South

Ghosts of The South
84 North Market St, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)
843-343-9255
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 219 things to do in Charleston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Tour Company is located in downtown Charleston, SC. And has been in business for approximately eight years. The company offers Ghost Tours nightly of the Historical District.
St. Charles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Would try another tour company next time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This ghost walk was okay. Our tour guide was Kevin and he was too dramatic. He would show us a house, building, etc...tell us about it....then we'd walk a 1/2 block , he'd stop us, and tell us what he forgot to tell us about the place when we were standing in front of it. We also started out...walked 1/2 way down the block, then Kevin said we were going the wrong way and we turned back and walked back where we just came from...unorganized. It was so-so.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haunted29401, Guest Relations Manager at Ghosts of The South, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We are sorry you thought Kevin was to dramatic. We encourage our tour guides to be fun and interactive. We do not hire dull or boring tour guides. We have asked other people who were on the same tour what they thought. And of this post their were no other complaints.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    14
    9
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Ghosts and History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

John was extremely patient, polite, and full of information and VERY interesting stories... Plus, he mixed stories of old with new technology to present a delightful walking tour complete with beautiful clear pictures on an iPad (or some such device). Lots of history I had never heard, and the pictures he showed of the before and after results of the great fire almost brought me to tears.
You leave wanting to know more, so I'll be checking my local library for any books on Charleston.

The ONLY thing I could find fault with is that a warning would have been nice for any elderly or impaired people that the beginning of the tour was practically a brisk jog to the first point of interest 2 blocks away.
There was an elderly couple in the tour group, and my Mom was limping from walking too much earlier in the day. It was hard on them.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very interesting tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

What a GREAT evening! John was an awesome tour guide, and really did a fantastic job with telling the various ghostly events of the past. I enjoyed every minute of the tour and learned things, that as a Charleston Native, I never even knew. I have been a Docent in some of the historic homes downtown, and had not heard any of the stories that he shared. He also shared pictures throughout the tour, and a personal experience with an actual ghost being captured on film. It was the fastest 75 minutes ever b/c we were thoroughly entertained from beginning to end! Great job!!! My mom and I enjoyed being a tourist in our own town!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haunted29401, Manager at Ghosts of The South, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank You for your response. We always love positive feed back from locals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed John's tour! He wasn't cheesy & dramatic like ghost tours we've done in other cities. The tour was the perfect length and we heard a lot of interesting ghost stories. John is a Charleston native & also gave us tips on good restaurants & extra bits of Charleston history!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Spooky but Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Very knowledgeable tour guide, very flowing tour. We were amazed and even took pictures in the cemetery which we swear are spirits.

Definitely worth the small price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghosts of The South also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Ghosts of The South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ghosts of The South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.