We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of the early bird diner

the early bird diner
1644 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407-7869
843-277-2353
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Description: breakfast all day, lunch + diner, open til 4am fri + sat, locally owned, everything made from scratch - biscuits, ice cream, pancakes + pasta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Chicken and waffles!! Yummy!! Had to force ourselves not to stop every time we drove by. Definitely the best on our trip so far.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    140
    29
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, great price, very original”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

While there is certainly a wait--about 30 minutes for us on a Saturday morning at 9:30--it was worth it. This is a small restaurant, nothing fancy in decor, but terrific food at very reasonable prices. We thought the pancakes were the best thing on the menu along with the curry egg scramble--called the Hang Over, I think. Our 5 year old son said, "this place should be on Diners, Drive-In's and Dives." It was a winner in all of our books!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Read the reviews and decided to try it. We got there right when it opened and got one of the last seats available. Husband ordered the chicken & waffles. We are not native to the South, but decided to try it. It was good, but odd to eat for breakfast. I ordered a la carte. Best grits I've ever had. Pancakes were excellent. Would eat there again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent little diner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We were looking for a place for my family of 6 to eat that wouldn't be hugely expensive & my younger ones wouldn't disrupt anyone else's dinner. The Early Bird Diner fit the bill, but also had the bonus of excellent food!

I had the roasted tomato sandwich & could not have been happier with my choice. My husband had a catfish po boy, which was also delicious. The macaroni & cheese was very good as well. I was trying to convince one of my kids to try the chicken & waffles, but they went with hamburgers.

A very nice alternative to the hustle & bustle of the market!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Yummy!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

What a perfect breakfast spot....great service, great food and fun decor. The biscuits were hot, large and flavorful. The eggs were cooked to order. The ham, bacon and french toast were all very tasty!! We had a fun time and would come back here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the early bird diner also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to the early bird diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the early bird diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.