We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Water Taxi

Charleston Water Taxi
Charleston Maritime Center, Charleston, SC 29401
843-330-2989
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 96 Attractions in Charleston
Type: Ferries/ Boats, Other
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Don't miss the boat! The Water Taxi is the most fun and convenient way to see Charleston harbor. We run every hour between Waterfront Park/Historic district, Aquarium Wharf, Patriots Point and Charleston Harbor Resort with dolphin sightings in between. $10 All day Pass and kids 3 and under are FREE. 9am til 8pm(11pm Friday and Saturday) 7 days a week. Going Sightseeing in downtown Charleston- take the Water Taxi! Want a relaxing harbor cruise- take the Water Taxi! Going to see the USS Yorktown- take the Water Taxi! Want to see some Dolphins- take the Water Taxi! Voted Best cheapest sunset and dolphin cruise in Charleston! Come see for yourself. Boats leave daily.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
854 reviews 854 reviews
415 attraction reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
“Friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Friendly service, smooth ride, and you really can't beat $10 on and off all day! I just took it for a joyride because I missed one of the boat tours I wanted to go on, but this more than made up for it!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    62
    22
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

What can be better than a boat ride when the temperatures are up in the 90's? There are only three stops but the round trip takes about an hour and a day pass costs $10. The staff were really friendly and besides the ride we got to see the dolphins in the river. The taxi takes you from the maritime Centre over to Patriot's Point where the big Naval ships are moored (Museum) and also stops at Charleston Bay Marina. We did the one hour round trip before getting off at the Marina and walking round to Patriots Point to get the taxi back.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice ride..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We took the water taxi to Patriot's Point to view the ships.. Saw some dolphins on the return trip. Great experience.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Not my first Water Taxi ride... All departures and arrivals have been on time.. Great way to get to Charleston from Mt. P side without having to find parking downtown.. Views on the trips across have always been spectacular and it gives you that "on the water " fix...

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great way to see dolphins, beautiful view of the bridge, easy to get on and off, and it's only ten dollars for the whole day!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Water Taxi also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Water Taxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Water Taxi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.