We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Water Taxi

Charleston Water Taxi
Charleston Maritime Center, Charleston, SC 29401
843-330-2989
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 219 things to do in Charleston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Don't miss the boat! The Water Taxi is the most fun and convenient way to see Charleston harbor. We run every hour between Waterfront Park/Historic district, Aquarium Wharf, Patriots Point and Charleston Harbor Resort with dolphin sightings in between. $10 All day Pass and kids 3 and under are FREE. 9am til 8pm(11pm Friday and Saturday) 7 days a week. Going Sightseeing in downtown Charleston- take the Water Taxi! Want a relaxing harbor cruise- take the Water Taxi! Going to see the USS Yorktown- take the Water Taxi! Want to see some Dolphins- take the Water Taxi! Voted Best cheapest sunset and dolphin cruise in Charleston! Come see for yourself. Boats leave daily.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

I was very disappointed. The boat is not very big and only holds about 25 people. This "attraction" should not be called Water Taxi either.

We got up early and got to the dock about 20 minutes before the first departure time. Even though we were one of the first in line, the boat filled up quick. So we waited around for the next departure time. The "water taxi" was late getting to us and we were 5th in line. Only two people got off and two people were allowed to get on. Apparently, you can stay on the boat as long as you want. We ended up leaving and driving to where we needed to go. If we actually made it on the boat, it might have been better.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWTX, Owner at Charleston Water Taxi, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
I just wanted to apologize for not being able to provide you with the kind of customer service we have built our business on. With that being said, it was July 4th weekend and we were unusually busy and we did have a wait which we don't normally have. If you are ever in the area again please come see me for a free all day pass for you and your family. I am sorry again you did not have a good experience. Just to clarify as well, the boat holds 49 people.

Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    72
    22
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

I'd recommend getting the day pass if you plan to go over to the Maritime Museum. Do that in the morning and then come back to the dock and take the last trip (leaves at 7:30 from the Aquarium landing) and do a round-trip for the sunset tour. Bring a picnic if you like. The boat pilot suggested it to us. We went on a hot summer day, and the evening trip was the lovely, and yes, we saw dolphin. Some folks came over to the old town with their bikes (a good idea!), Other than the Museum, we didn't find anything to see over at Patriots Point, but some folks just rode over for the water adventure.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very nice and relaxing ride!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We took the water taxi from the maritime center to Patriots Point. It took about 20 minutes for the ride. The staff was very courteous. They would slow down when there was a dolphin sighting so that we could get pictures. It was a very relaxing ride, and well worth the money.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Much more than just a taxi ride!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

For $10 roundtrip and all day pass, you can get a full tour of the harbor 1 hour, or be taxied around to several destinations for the day.. Kids under 3 free. The website said kids under 5 free , which was wrong, but it was still worth the extra $10 for our four year old. Knowledgeable staff that gave us lots of fun facts during our ride. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Respite from heat but rather dull"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

After reading other reviews we decided to do this. While we did escape the heat, I
don't think I could recommend this as an "attraction". It is transportation - not much
entertainment. Keep this in mind and perhaps you won't be as disappointed.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Water Taxi also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Water Taxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Water Taxi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.