We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific place to stay downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Restoration on King

Save Saved
You added The Restoration on King to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Restoration on King
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Wentworth Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Conde Nast Award Special
Ranked #3 of 54 hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrific place to stay downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Just spent the weekend here, and had a terrific time. The rooms are beautiful, the location is amazing. You are right in the center of everything. The staff is great. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    372
    37
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
90
213
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Williamsport PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

We had only one night at this hotel after reading very good reviews. The reviews were right on. The staff was exceptional! That would be the person who parks your car, the reception attendant, the housekeeping staff and including the hotel manager. The evening cocktail hour was wine, fruit, cheese and maybe crackers. Very nicely done and very accommodating to meet other travelers. Our room was so very comfortable with all the space to have dinner in rather than go to a restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

We had an excellent stay at Resoration on King. I came across it in a Travel & Leisure article and was so glad I did! The apartments were gorgeous, very clean (and I'm a clean freak), and the staff was so attentive. Having a kitchen was also priceless since we had our 1-year old with us. We were able to have friends over given the very nice living room, and we were pleasantly surprised to find warm chocolate chip cookies in the lobby at night! Highly recommend this hotel!!"

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

This is the newest property in the heart of the city. The location and the hotel justifies whatever rate you get. Beautiful one bedroom suite was to want to stay longer! Staff could not be more helpful, with a free breakfast and wine happy hour, it was a jewel in a city with many choices.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West chester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

Stayed here two nights and thought it was one of our best stays anywhere and we travel a lot! It's like having an upscale condo designed with upscale tastes for just a little more than the price of a average hotel room at a brand name chain (think Hyatt/ Westin). They think of everything here even providing oversize umbrellas to deal with Charleston in the rain. Perfect concierge service and the picnic breakfast (order as much as you want) was beyond our wildest expectations - it even looked so pretty we had to take a picture! Could go on but unless you hate modern and absolutely need traditional don't think of anywhere else to stay but here. I hear they're already sold out for this year graduation weeks - they only opened last spring!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

We stayed three nights at the Restoration on King, a boutique hotel, January 12-14. Originally the Restoration was to be 15 condominiums coming online in late 2008. Not selling, they were turned into an exemplary boutique hotel, with great ambience, quality furnishings, and a caring, knowledgeable, and attentive staff.

One could not ask for more: the hotel is centrally and conveniently located. There are refreshments before and after dinner each day. Like a good restaurant, the staff completed the mosaic of hospitality. Inns and B&Bs would do well to emulate this caring, quality service. Being owners of a small B&B and staying at B&Bs and boutique hotels during the last 40 years, we were so very pleased: this is how it should happen!

In fact, the salient and enduring memory of The Restoration on King is the staff. Howard, the manager, checked to see about our accommodations. Gail and Erick manned the desk; Mark, Marc, and Darren helped with valet and luggage. Pat brought breakfast to the door each morning. Lashondra, Carrie, and Sarah performed room care and turn-down. Amazingly, everyone was a font of credible, in-depth, and knowledgeable information about all aspects of Charleston, significantly increasing our enjoyment of our first visit to Charleston. Suffice it to say, we will stay at the Restoration on King on our inevitable next visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

We stayed here for one night. While checking in there was fresh brewed tea in the lobby, very nice! Check in was simple and the bellhop was great! He showed us around the hotel and our room which was located on the second floor. The room setup was fantastic. The only negative comment is that we stayed just above the Lucky Brand store. I noticed very loud music and I wanted to know where it was coming from, so I did a little investigating. I found that that music I was hearing was from Lucky. If you are trying to take a nap and you are in one of these rooms, forget it! Why does Lucky need to blare music anyway? Do they think they will sell more clothes? Anyway, I think that is something The Restoration and Lucky need to work out. The Restoration was very clean, nice appliances, comfortable bed, and good service. If you are going to stay here, ask for a room away from the Lucky store or on the third floor if possible.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Restoration on King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Restoration on King

Address: 75 Wentworth Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Restoration on King 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With dramatic living spaces, fully equipped kitchens, and the classic charm of decades of Southern hospitality, Restoration on King is a beautifully restored Charleston boutique hotel that is surrounded by vibrant, active Charleston, South Carolina. Located in the heart of the Historic District, the 16 luxury one- and two-bedroom suites offer executive living with all the comforts of a well-appointed apartment. The rooms are spacious and airy, ranging from 782 sq. ft. to 1,271 sq. ft. They boast 12-foot ceilings, exposed brick walls, original knotty pine flooring and large windows. While some have private patios, all guests are welcomed to join us on the rooftop terrace for wine and cheese, and the pure enjoyment of the city below. The coveted AAA Four-Diamond rating only begins to tell the story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, BookIt.com, Jetsetter, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Restoration on King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Restoration On King Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Restoration on King, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.