We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved my visit to Charleston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Restoration on King

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Restoration on King to your Saves list
The Restoration on King
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Wentworth Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Conde Nast Award Special
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Saved my visit to Charleston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed the night here on our recent vacation. I am so thankful we did because the weather didn't cooperate with what we had planned. That just gave us more time to enjoy our room which is more like a studio apartment. The rooms are simply gorgeous. Full kitchen, spacious living area, and a very comfortable bed in a loft setting makes this a home away from home. The rooftop patio and outstanding customer service just add to your enjoyment here. There is no place else in Charleston I would consider staying.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    41
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
112
247
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blair, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed on the third floor in a room with a huge private balcony. This Hotel is so nice you just want to move in, and with the generous Wine and Cheese social each evening , the cookies later, and the free waters and pop in the refrigerator , you have to skip some of the niceties just to have an appetite to eat at all the fabulous restaurants nearby. We could have had a party with 20 couples in this room and not felt crowded, what a spectacular home to come to after a busy day sightseeing. It does feel like home, and you can tell the condo beginnings of the Restoration. You will be restored for sure and can't think of a better place to stay in scenic Charleston

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with a balcony ---- one is hidden where we stayed and the other is facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We live just 2 hours away and are no strangers to Charleston both for business and personal travel.

This is a great hotel if you like combination of historic and contemporary. It's a boutique hotel so no room service but rooms are large with lots of amenities. Close to shopping and dining.

Great for couples or business if you want a place to settle in for comfort and then get out and explore the city. If you want full service pampering, probably not your place. However, if the room and location most important great choice.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutherville Timonium, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Anyone traveling to Charleston needs to seriously consider a stay at the Restoration. The customer service is the best I have ever experienced. We happened to have a late-night arrival (10 pm), and the General Manager, Howard Letts, was right at the door to greet us. We were offered some wonderful treats before bedtime and then taken on a quick tour of the site. Mr. Letts also gave us a thorough tour of the suite and explanation of the amenities. Ours was a fantastic one-bedroom suite with a beautiful balcony and sizable living dining area. The Restoration even has a Pillow Bar, which guarantees that you will have a best night sleep given your preference of pillow. The stay includes breakfast, which is delivered to your door in an elegant picnic basket. The property itself is gorgeous and in keeping with the beautiful architecture of the city. Hats off to the Restoration. They sure know how to make a guest feel extra special.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleming Island, FL
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We recently spent three nights at the Restoration on King. Our trip to Charleston was completely spur of the moment in midweek; I called Restoration and asked what they had available, starting that night. We spent two nights in a one-bedroom suite and our third night in a two-bedroom, which was fine with us. What a great place! The rooms are absolutely fantastic, wonderful sitting areas with great views down King Street, full kitchens, lovely wood floors, exposed brick walls...everything you see in the photos is true, in fact, the photos don't do these rooms justice. The continental breakfast delivered every morning in the wicker baskets was great, the rooms were spotlessly clean, the white noise machines at bedside a wonderful touch, the recommendations from Nathan and Darrin for dinner were right on...but it is the customer service from general manager Howard Letts that sets this hotel apart. This was our first visit but it will definitely not be our last...absolutely an excellent experience!

Room Tip: Higher floor has less noise from businesses below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I cannot say enough about the quality of this hotel. We stayed at the Restoration for a women's weekend and were so pleased that the best shopping and restaurants were within walking distance. Our suite was very spacious with a private balcony. Absolutely luxurious room. The staff was wonderful. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The room was the size of an apartment and the location was ideal. The service was great and the people were very nice. We felt like royalty or celebrities. There was even a washing machine and dryer! I live in charleston and have stayed in many hotels here and this one is my new favorite. I would stay here any day of the week!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Restoration on King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Restoration on King

Address: 75 Wentworth Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#7 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Restoration on King 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With dramatic living spaces, fully equipped kitchens, and the classic charm of decades of Southern hospitality, Restoration on King is a beautifully restored Charleston boutique hotel that is surrounded by vibrant, active Charleston, South Carolina. Located in the heart of the Historic District, the 16 luxury one- and two-bedroom suites offer executive living with all the comforts of a well-appointed apartment. The rooms are spacious and airy, ranging from 782 sq. ft. to 1,271 sq. ft. They boast 12-foot ceilings, exposed brick walls, original knotty pine flooring and large windows. While some have private patios, all guests are welcomed to join us on the rooftop terrace for wine and cheese, and the pure enjoyment of the city below. The coveted AAA Four-Diamond rating only begins to tell the story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Restoration on King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Restoration On King Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Restoration on King, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.