We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Experiences!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Restoration on King

Save Saved
You added The Restoration on King to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Restoration on King
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Wentworth Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Conde Nast Award Special
Ranked #3 of 54 hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“One of the Best Experiences!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

First class boutique hotel run extremely well by Howard Letts and his wonderful staff, They were ready to help us with anything we needed. Which was rare. As they anticipated just about anything you could wish for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    344
    34
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
85
197
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great location, Enormous rooms that make you fee like you are in an apartment, and by all rights you are as they were built as condos. Super cool place to stay and totally 100% top notch classy. This is a 4 star property likely because they dont have an on site dining room etc..... but if it did i would give it a solid 4.5+.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Spent four nights and enjoyed the outstanding rooms, superior service and incredible location. Walking distance to almost everything (food, shops, museums). Would highly recommend for anyone visiting Charleston.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Converted condos. Great big modern comfortable rooms. Awesome roof deck. Good service. What's not to like. They went the extra mile for me. Thanks concierge and valet. I got lucky and found it on "Hotel Tonight" app for a last minute Monday stay. This hotel would be quite an oasis for a nice long weekend in C-town.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed in a two bedroom suite in March 2013 for three nights with a larger party (room 303). We were celebrating a special occasion and wanted to stay in one space together, rather than in separate hotel rooms. The suite was as advertised - spacious, clean, beautifully decorated. The service was excellent. We were shown to our room on arrival and given a brief tour with helpful tips. The fridge was stocked with water and soda and re-stocked as requested. We were able to select breakfast items each evening for the following morning. Breakfast was delivered in a picnic basket at a specified time each day - very cute! Breakfast options included pastries, yogurt, cottage cheese, fruit, etc which should please most palates. The kitchen had everything we needed. I typically don't see the value of having a full kitchen in a hotel (I like to enjoy the restaurants!), but it was great to re-heat leftovers and snacks. We took advantage of the rooftop longue area and the bikes. We also enjoyed the evening happy hour. The hotel location is great; main attractions and restaurants are within (relatively) easy walking distance. if the price doesn't intimidate you, the hotel is a wonderful option.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The suites in this intimate boutique hotel are like sexy, high end condominiums. They have tons of living space, first rate kitchens, great beds, and (in some cases) private outdoor terraces. We stayed in a two bedroom suite and loved the personal attention and service. The hotel Is expensive, but worth every penny. The location is close to everything and we walked to every site and restaurant. The staff was friendly and helpful. We plan to return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in March 2013 with another couple. What a fabulous boutique hotel. When we arrived we weren't sure what to expect from the entrance but what a grand surprise when we started our walk through the hotel and then to our very cool upscale condo suite. We had a one bedroom suite with a balcony. We had our friends visiting with us and it was so great to be able to enjoy the balcony for a late afternoon drink. I felt like we were staying in a place right out of a New York movie with the exposed brick walls and open spacious rooms. We absolutely loved it here. The General Manager, Howard, shared some great stories with us and was very knowledgeable about giving us ideas on where to visit and where to eat. One of our favourite things was the unique way they serve breakfast. We would order the night before and then wake up to these very cute picnic baskets filled with the items we had picked. Food, service and accommodations are all top notch. One of my favourite places that we have ever stayed. Would definitely recommend staying here. Oh, and two of our favourite places to eat were Fig & Halls Chophouse. Both were excellent! Guaranteed you will love the Restoration on King.

Room Tip: We loved our one bedroom suite on the third floor (room 307). The balcony makes the room very open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Restoration on King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Restoration on King

Also Known As:
The Restoration On King Hotel
The Restoration On King Hotel Charleston
Address: 75 Wentworth Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#27 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Restoration on King 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With dramatic living spaces, fully equipped kitchens, and the classic charm of decades of Southern hospitality, Restoration on King is a beautifully restored Charleston boutique hotel that is surrounded by vibrant, active Charleston, South Carolina. Located in the heart of the Historic District, the 16 luxury one- and two-bedroom suites offer executive living with all the comforts of a well-appointed apartment. The rooms are spacious and airy, ranging from 782 sq. ft. to 1,271 sq. ft. They boast 12-foot ceilings, exposed brick walls, original knotty pine flooring and large windows. While some have private patios, all guests are welcomed to join us on the rooftop terrace for wine and cheese, and the pure enjoyment of the city below. The coveted AAA Four-Diamond rating only begins to tell the story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Restoration on King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Restoration on King, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.