We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The people are the Stars” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Restoration on King

Save Saved
You added The Restoration on King to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Restoration on King
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Wentworth Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Conde Nast Award Special
Ranked #3 of 54 hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The people are the Stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was our (two couples) first trip to Charleston, SC. Thus our first stay at The Restoration on King was our introduction to the area. We cannot imagine a more perfect place to spend 5 days to get to know the area and its people.
This very special boutique hotel is staffed by a group of people who from start to finish make you feel part of the family. It starts with a greeting and great service by Sam and Darren, and never stopped in our 5 days on property. A continuous, proactive assistance from Nicole, Giovanna, and Nathan at the desk made us comfortable from the moment they checked us in, to their daily guidance around the city. You'll have a special moment when you meet Howard (General Manager) who is insistent on making sure your every move is attended to in a first class manor.
If you are traveling to Charleston, the rooms are as special as the people, and there cannot be a better place to stay in this city. It will be our "go to" destination from now on as we will recommend this to our family and friends. This place ranks with the best hotels we have visited in our global travels. Don't miss it!!
Steve Bowsher--Chicago

Room Tip: All rooms are great (we looked at several in our stay). We preferred a room on the back side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    375
    37
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
91
214
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the Restoration for 9 nights over Christmas and New Year for our honeymoon. We could not have chosen a better place to stay! Upon arrival on Christmas Day we were met by Nathan who arranged for a bottle of champagne to be sent to our room. Kenny, one of the hotel porters, then showed us to our room whilst giving us lots of useful information about Charleston. We kept bumping into Kenny throughout our stay and he was always exceptionally polite and wanting to help in any way he could. Although we had requested a room on the top floor prior to our stay (having read reviews on here and being light sleepers ourselves) unfortunately we were given a room on the 2nd floor. We tried this for 1 night and even though the room was beautiful the noise from above was noticeable. We therefore requested a room change which the hotel were very accommodating with, and we got moved to another lovely room (306) on the top floor. The nightly cookies and milk served in the lobby were great, as was the nightly turn down service with treats and weather forecast which we found particularly useful. The free wi-fi internet worked great in our hotel room. The breakfast hampers were amazing and we loved the free paper each morning. One evening we made use of ROK's room service facility, they ordered the food for us from a local restaurant which was then delivered to our room by Kenny. Another nice surprise was another free bottle of champagne brought to our room on New Year's eve. Both of the rooms that we saw were beautifully furnished and decorated throughout, it's refreshing to stay somewhere that looks as good in real life as it does on the website! The hotel was also helpful booking taxi's for us when we needed them, we found the yellow cab's were great and cheap. However, for some reason a different company was booked to take us to the airport which ended up costing us $45, so I would suggest requesting a yellow cab to the airport if money is an issue. The location of the hotel is also perfect, situated right in the heart of the historic district and everywhere was within easy walking distance. Overall we can't recommend the ROK enough, we certainly can't wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

What a great surprise this hotel was! We were staying at the Planter's Inn,but had to moveasthehotelwas booked after the second night.. "Restoration" was fabulous. The building had been restored around the time the economic crisis hit, and includes mostly small apartments, so the rooms are very spacious. Ours was a one bedroom, with high ceilings, a beautifully furnished living room, kitchen, bedroom and a great bathroom. The furnishings are modern, but warm, and the feeling is of comfortable luxe. service is fantastic, with wine offered at the reception in the early evening, and milk and cookies (!) before bedtime. I ultra-recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the Restoration on King was wonderful. It was our 15th wedding anniversary and the location was perfect for a night out. The design of the room felt like a mix between historical Charleston and A modern New York City loft. Our room was a one bedroom suite with a patio and the space was incredible. Spacious closets, 1 1/2 bath, and a full kitchen. The staff were very helpful and professional. I hope to return to Restoration on King every year on my wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is right in the heart of the shopping district of Charleston. It had a very interesting set-up with a small reception area for the 15 or so condo like units that belong to the hotel. The hotel also shares it elevator with other condos in the same building but this was not an issue. The room was immaculate and I truly appreciated having a separate kitchen and living area in which to enjoy breakfast and television time, as opposed to staying in a regular hotel room and sitting on the bed. I loved that breakfast was packaged into baskets a delivered outside our door each morning. The staff was courteous and accommodating. They were also very helpful with booking activities for the time that we spent in Charleston. For some reason although turndown service is offered free of charge it was never performed during our stay but it really did not make a difference to us. We got a great deal on the rate thanks to the conde nast deal they were offering. Had we have paid full price, it may not have been worth the stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor. Previous reviews note that there may be noise from the shops bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. We pulled up after a 4 hour drive, and were hot, sweaty, and tired! But we were greeted with glasses of wine, delicious cheeses, and valet parking to take our car off our hands. When we were shown our room, we were certain HGTV had been by recently....they were stunning! Complete luxury feel in an outstanding location. The employees were beyond helpful, and were so incredibly friendly. They went out of their way to ensure everything we needed was taken care of, and had a smile on their faces the whole time. My husband and I have dreamed about coming back ever since, and we can't wait for the day that we do!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is amazing!!!! I called trying to check out the scene and Chase was sooooooo helpful! He was so personable and friendly I immediately booked right after I hung up!!! Then I needed some help pre paying and booking a couple different rooms to accommodate family and Nathan was extremely helpful, and just awesome! He made sure everyone knew about my accommodations and everything was so efficient. This is all on top of how beautiful, and clean this establishment is! Best hotel ever! Thanks guys!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Restoration on King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Restoration on King

Address: 75 Wentworth Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Restoration on King 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With dramatic living spaces, fully equipped kitchens, and the classic charm of decades of Southern hospitality, Restoration on King is a beautifully restored Charleston boutique hotel that is surrounded by vibrant, active Charleston, South Carolina. Located in the heart of the Historic District, the 16 luxury one- and two-bedroom suites offer executive living with all the comforts of a well-appointed apartment. The rooms are spacious and airy, ranging from 782 sq. ft. to 1,271 sq. ft. They boast 12-foot ceilings, exposed brick walls, original knotty pine flooring and large windows. While some have private patios, all guests are welcomed to join us on the rooftop terrace for wine and cheese, and the pure enjoyment of the city below. The coveted AAA Four-Diamond rating only begins to tell the story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Restoration on King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Restoration On King Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Restoration on King, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.