We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and luxe...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Restoration

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Restoration to your Saves list
The Restoration
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Wentworth Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Conde Nast Award Special
Ranked #4 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Comfort and luxe...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

What a great surprise this hotel was! We were staying at the Planter's Inn,but had to moveasthehotelwas booked after the second night.. "Restoration" was fabulous. The building had been restored around the time the economic crisis hit, and includes mostly small apartments, so the rooms are very spacious. Ours was a one bedroom, with high ceilings, a beautifully furnished living room, kitchen, bedroom and a great bathroom. The furnishings are modern, but warm, and the feeling is of comfortable luxe. service is fantastic, with wine offered at the reception in the early evening, and milk and cookies (!) before bedtime. I ultra-recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tradewinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our stay at the Restoration on King was wonderful. It was our 15th wedding anniversary and the location was perfect for a night out. The design of the room felt like a mix between historical Charleston and A modern New York City loft. Our room was a one bedroom suite with a patio and the space was incredible. Spacious closets, 1 1/2 bath, and a full kitchen. The staff were very helpful and professional. I hope to return to Restoration on King every year on my wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorimay1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is right in the heart of the shopping district of Charleston. It had a very interesting set-up with a small reception area for the 15 or so condo like units that belong to the hotel. The hotel also shares it elevator with other condos in the same building but this was not an issue. The room was immaculate and I truly appreciated having a separate kitchen and living area in which to enjoy breakfast and television time, as opposed to staying in a regular hotel room and sitting on the bed. I loved that breakfast was packaged into baskets a delivered outside our door each morning. The staff was courteous and accommodating. They were also very helpful with booking activities for the time that we spent in Charleston. For some reason although turndown service is offered free of charge it was never performed during our stay but it really did not make a difference to us. We got a great deal on the rate thanks to the conde nast deal they were offering. Had we have paid full price, it may not have been worth the stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor. Previous reviews note that there may be noise from the shops bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. We pulled up after a 4 hour drive, and were hot, sweaty, and tired! But we were greeted with glasses of wine, delicious cheeses, and valet parking to take our car off our hands. When we were shown our room, we were certain HGTV had been by recently....they were stunning! Complete luxury feel in an outstanding location. The employees were beyond helpful, and were so incredibly friendly. They went out of their way to ensure everything we needed was taken care of, and had a smile on their faces the whole time. My husband and I have dreamed about coming back ever since, and we can't wait for the day that we do!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mckenzie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is amazing!!!! I called trying to check out the scene and Chase was sooooooo helpful! He was so personable and friendly I immediately booked right after I hung up!!! Then I needed some help pre paying and booking a couple different rooms to accommodate family and Nathan was extremely helpful, and just awesome! He made sure everyone knew about my accommodations and everything was so efficient. This is all on top of how beautiful, and clean this establishment is! Best hotel ever! Thanks guys!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

First, love the vibe of this place. It is a true boutique hotel. So many great things about it including: location, decor, cleanliness, friendly staff, homemade cookies and milk every night and breakfast in a picnic basket delivered to your doorstep every morning. Need I say more?

Location: right off of King Street. If you know anything about Charleston then you know that King Street is where everything happens. Great food and great shopping. This boutique hotel is literally right off of King Street. Easy walk everywhere.

Decor: Modern decor with a Pottery Barn-like feel. Very warm and welcoming. Clean lines, but very comfortable. Light colors, beachy colors. Exposed brick.

Rooms: They are mini condos. Probably safe to say that this was meant to be condos, but then the recession hit and someone had the genius idea to make it a hotel instead. Our room was a 1 bedroom with a full kitchen, laundry in unit, spacious bathroom and spacious living room. It was spotless.

Staff: Everyone was very friendly. Very accommodating. Very attentive (and they were sold out).

One note: a lot of people who reviewed this place complained about the thin walls- the hotel was sold out the night we stayed and we did not hear anything. And I'm pretty sensitive to noise. The only thing you heard was people in the hallway, but that's typical of any hotel.

It's easy to see why this got the Trip Advisor Traveler’s Award.

Next time my husband and I come back we will stay here again and again. We will also be recommending this property to our friends and family when they visit Charleston.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JJFigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The staff at ROK is incredibly nice. During our three-day stay, we were greeted by name. The wine & cheese and milk & cookies are really nice touches, especially after a long day of touring. Our room/apartment was beautifully decorated, and we appreciated having a full-sized refrigerator. As noted in other reviews, there is some street noise, but the hotel thoughtfully provides white noise machines, which made a huge difference. ROK is in the heart of the shopping and restaurant scene and is an easy walk to the historic district and to the pier for the Fort Sumter ferry. Travelers who prefer the coziness of a B&B, but also like the amenities of a full-service hotel, will think ROK is perfect. We did.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadoften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,275 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 991 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#3 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zero George Street
#5 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#18 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,419 reviews
Downtown
Wentworth Mansion
Wentworth Mansion
#2 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Restoration? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Restoration

Address: 75 Wentworth Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#10 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Restoration 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Opened & Re-Created The Restoration welcomes you to be our guest at our newly expanded location on Charleston's iconic King Street. From food and drinks to culture and boutique shopping, we have recreated history for your enjoyment. Come get inspired and experience what the New South is all about firsthand. See below for more details. A world class hotel isn't just a place to get a good night's rest (or a refreshing afternoon tipple,) it's a meeting ground, a place where unexpected elements come together to delight, inspire and entertain. Uniting classic elegance with a natural and easy going Southern touch, The Restoration translates its hometown's vibrant local history and culture into a casually chic, luxurious hospitality experience. It's relaxed and refined and just a little bit left of center-a world where high meets low meets Low Country. The Restoration is all about community. From locals to international travelers, we provide an immersive, beautifully designed environment for guests to connect and relax. It is this civic-minded, progressive mindset that powers the Restoration brand- from our jewel box inspired spa and farm to table restaurant, to the motorcycles we custom design for guests to ride away on. This is classic Southern Hospitality, modernized with a few twists and expanded to meet and exceed the highest standards of today's luxury traveler. We welcome you to experience The Restoration first hand to see what the New South is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Restoration reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Restoration On King Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing