We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group Vacation Hotspot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Restoration on King

Save Saved
You added The Restoration on King to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Restoration on King
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Wentworth Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Conde Nast Award Special
Ranked #3 of 54 hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
new york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Group Vacation Hotspot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Coolest apart hotel, smack in the middle of it all. Second visit. Great for group vacations. Staff are always helpful.
This is a real simple winning set up.
No hideous thronging lobby. No queuing to be seated do breakfast. Just great little breakfast hampers delivered and taken in the comfort of ones own warehouse space. Ah, Zen.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    380
    37
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
93
216
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

An absolute gem of a place. The attention to detail left nothing to be desired. From the wonderful, large rooms to the gracious and professional staff, Restoration hits ALL the marks. The exposed brick walls and the modern furniture/fixtures were the perfect blend of contemporary and historical. Every staff member we encountered was helpful, professional and kind. Darrin was a stand-out among a wonderful staff. We will certainly stay @ Restoration on King again. Kudos on a job well done.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the rooms(1BR) overlooking King St.. Our companions were in a room (1BR) w/ a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were traveling around South Carolina and Georgia without reservations in October. We found as we drove around that finding accomadations at the last minute was somewhat difficult. We felt incredibly lucky to score a room at The Restoration. We saw on TripAdvisor it had a perfect rating and couldn't believe it. We travel extensively and have never seen a perfect rating for a hotel in a city we were in. This place is as wonderful as all the reviews indicate. The rooms are huge and have all the many amenities you have in your own home. Everyone we had contact with was gracious, warm, and provided exceptional service. The evening wine and cheese is fabulous and perfect way to start the check in. We will be back to SC just to stay at The Restoration.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We love the location and the amenities of Restoration On King - especially the breakfast picnic basket delivered to our room. The two bedroom suite was incredibly spacious and beautifully decorated. The exposed brick and high ceilings from the original building give the space a historic feel, but the modern decor has an urban vibe. It was so much fun to sit in the living room and watch all the activity out on King Street. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous. This hotel is a real gem, and our stay could not have been better. We definitely will be back and will stay longer next time!

Room Tip: Room 205 is on the corner of King and Wentworth so is great for people watching. Room 201 has its o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watertown, CT
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I saw that a couple of people rated ROK as average and I can not imagine what they were expecting. Are there are couple of small details that could be more refined? Yes, there are a couple of small fixtures and details that are not up to the overall design standard. I guess if you like a traditional hotel layout this might not be for you but the rooms are huge, the kitchens are great and overall architecture is both impressive and cozy. The bed is amazing and the balcony a wonderful surprise. Also, the location is down-right perfect.

Room Tip: My suggestion is to get the biggest room you can afford and reserve the bicycles early. Also, do no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We loved our stay at the restoration on king. We celebrate our 25 anniversary in Charleston. We loved the city, but what really made it special was the restoration on king hotel. The rooms are spacious, clean and truly unique

We loved it and would go back tomorrow!!!'

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

As boutique hotel owners ourselves, our expectations may be different when we travel. We tend to look closely at the details - the entire experience from booking, to arrival, to departure. How does the hotel/inn handle the unexpected and do we feel relaxed and rejuvenated as we wave good-bye. The true test is whether we'd recommend this stop to our friends and family...would we come back.

Yes, yes, yes is our answer for The Restoration on King.

We are on our annual November "vacation" from Stowe, VT and are visiting a few spots in GA, SC and NC. (lots of reviews on the way...) We are also celebrating an anniversary, so wanted parts of our stay to be a bit more romantic. We added a stop-over in Charleston, SC this year and WOW, were we glad we did. We actually found The Restoration on King in downtown Charleston because we wanted to use our American Airline points to book a hotel stay. The reviews of the hotel and the hotel website were compelling, and fit our desire to stay somewhere with a cool vibe, great location, romantic and a bit different from a larger hotel chain. We knew we were starting our vacation in Atlanta and booked 3 nights at the Omni CNN....so the Charleston stop needed to be more "Inn-like" and less "hotel-like".

Our ipad map (Apple Maps) delivered us 1 block too early...so watch that. It took us a few trips around the King Street block to find the hotel. No grand entry here with bellmen outside, so look closely. As we entered the lobby, refreshments of wine and cheese greeted us along with a very personable and helpful valet. More than a bellman, he could answer every single question we had and made our transition into The Restoration smooth and welcoming. We grabbed a glass of wine while he took care of our luggage and parked the car. He then showed us to our room...a 1 bedroom apartment suite. Wow again!

Our room was shockingly spacious and rich with amenities. Hardwood floors, brick walls, floor to ceiling doorways out to a private and well-furnished patio/deck. A lovely and comfortable den with a large flat-screen TV, full-sized gorgeous kitchen and nice master bedroom created the perfect environment to relax and unwind. Our suite had a great master bath and a separate 1/2 bath, washer/dryer closet (complete with laundry soap) and a large walk-in closet.

The staff even had a complementary bottle of champagne on ice waiting for us because we mentioned it was our anniversary. Awesome!

The full-sized frig was stocked with an assortment of soft drinks and water, locally roasted coffees and teas were also plentiful (and all included). A continental breakfast was also included in our stay. Simply checkoff of a menu what we'd like to have (muffins, danishes, bagels, yogurt and drinks) and the items were delivered in a Charleston wicker picnic basket left outside our door each morning. Breakfast items were from a local bakery....and the basket delivery was a fun way to turn packaged muffins and cold cereal into something a bit more interesting.

Turn-down service was even personable. We met Connie (I think was her name) who carefully turned down our bed, laid out robes, refreshed our bathroom and left chocolate-covered almonds as a treat. Nice!

We enjoyed our evening in Charleston so much (dinner at Macintosh..review to follow), we decided to extend our stay in the city an additional day/night. We wanted to enjoy shopping and see a bit more of the city. The Lululemon store was around the corner and we couldn't miss a long visit there!

We were unable to use frequent flyer miles for the 2nd night at the Restoration (not available), so we had to decide whether to pay $400 for an additional night in our room, or move to another hotel in the area for a lower rate. I called and asked the desk staff if the room was available for a 2nd night and what their best rate would be. At the same time, we looked at other 4-5 star hotels in the area for comparison. The Restoration extended a 2nd night to us, in the same room, for $249 (beating their best on-line rate). A competing hotel with similar amenities and star rating was available for the same price a few blocks away (The Vendue). We decided to check out the competition before we committed to another night.

Off for a jog we went with great directions from the front desk staff. We ran through downtown out to the Battery and along the seawall. Charleston is a gorgeous city and we thoroughly enjoyed a "self-paced" tour and jog all in one. We decided to stop by The Vendue for a look to see what we'd get for $249/night. Rather than leave that review here, I'll post it under their TA site. Short answer is....there was no comparison. We stayed at The Restoration or a 2nd night.

Our departure was as pleasant as our arrival. They allowed us a bit of extra time on the checkout, had our car ready to go, helped load luggage and gave us spot-on directions to Hwy 17 North for the continuation of our trip.

We loved The Restoration. We even picked up a few ideas that we'll incorporate at Stowe Meadows. I liked the small touches and attention to detail....and attention to their customer.

The beds were extremely comfortable, linens fantastic, duvet welcoming, pillows terrific. Large comfy sectional sofa in the den was like visiting a friend's house and having privacy. The bath products were luxurious. The walk-in, 2-person shower was amazing. The staff was helpful, polite and accommodating. We heard a bit of traffic noise and construction noise, but that goes along with the downtown location. We also had a somewhat noisy neighbor in the room next door, but once we moved to our bedroom, the distance between rooms made it a non-issue.

Highly recommend. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Rooms that don't face the street may be more quiet depending on construction activities outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Charming, City...
Show More
French Quarter Inn
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 54 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 1,598 reviews
Charming, Bouti...
Show More
Downtown
Wentworth Mansion
Wentworth Mansion
#2 of 54 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 518 reviews
Romantic, Charm...
Show More
Zero George Street
Zero George Street
#4 of 54 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
King Charles Inn
King Charles Inn
#9 of 54 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,414 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#7 of 54 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,222 reviews
Pool, City Cent...
Show More
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Restoration on King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Restoration on King

Address: 75 Wentworth Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#19 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Restoration on King 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With dramatic living spaces, fully equipped kitchens, and the classic charm of decades of Southern hospitality, Restoration on King is a beautifully restored Charleston boutique hotel that is surrounded by vibrant, active Charleston, South Carolina. Located in the heart of the Historic District, the 16 luxury one- and two-bedroom suites offer executive living with all the comforts of a well-appointed apartment. The rooms are spacious and airy, ranging from 782 sq. ft. to 1,271 sq. ft. They boast 12-foot ceilings, exposed brick walls, original knotty pine flooring and large windows. While some have private patios, all guests are welcomed to join us on the rooftop terrace for wine and cheese, and the pure enjoyment of the city below. The coveted AAA Four-Diamond rating only begins to tell the story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Restoration on King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Restoration On King Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Restoration on King, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.