We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Unitarian Church in Charleston

Unitarian Church in Charleston
8 Archdale Street, Charleston, SC 29401
(843) 723-4617
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 192 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
1,709 reviews
911 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,088 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The architecture and history of the building are astounding. My tour guide took me here, and I was pleasantly surprised with the place!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    19
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely Cemetery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Happened upon the entrance to the cemetery as we were walking down King St. Couldn't resist investigating what was down the tree lined and shaded walkway...what a pleasant surprise. The cemetery is a bit overgrown in areas which added to its charm in my opinion. Quiet and a bit hidden. A wonderful place to explore. Highly recommend, not to be missed.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Take the Bulldog Graveyard Tour at night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Nice graveyard and a very unique round style church architecture. Take the Bulldog Tours night time graveyard tour. they have keys to the graveyard at night because a part of your ticket price goes to restoring the headstones and graveyards around Charleston. Very cool!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Hospitable docents make this tour interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We almost passed this church up, but we're glad we didn't. The docents were extremely friendly and knowledgeable and shared freely about the church and its history. The cemetery is open to visitors.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Regardless of your faith, if you love historic cemeteries as much as I do, then this is a must-do. Enter through one of Charleston's distinctive verdant alleys fronted by a wrought iron gate, and you will soon find yourself in a sweet-smelling garden in which the tombstones appear seamlessly with ferns, flowers, moss, and low-hanging branches. I stumbled upon the church and graveyard completely by accident while photographing Charleston's alleys, what a lovely surprise.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Unitarian Church in Charleston also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Unitarian Church in Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Unitarian Church in Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.