We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Unitarian Church in Charleston

Unitarian Church in Charleston
8 Archdale Street, Charleston, SC 29401
(843) 723-4617
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 108 Attractions in Charleston
Type: Architectural buildings, Religious sites, Sights & Landmarks
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
1,004 reviews 1,004 reviews
496 attraction reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The architecture and history of the building are astounding. My tour guide took me here, and I was pleasantly surprised with the place!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    17
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely Cemetery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Happened upon the entrance to the cemetery as we were walking down King St. Couldn't resist investigating what was down the tree lined and shaded walkway...what a pleasant surprise. The cemetery is a bit overgrown in areas which added to its charm in my opinion. Quiet and a bit hidden. A wonderful place to explore. Highly recommend, not to be missed.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Take the Bulldog Graveyard Tour at night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Nice graveyard and a very unique round style church architecture. Take the Bulldog Tours night time graveyard tour. they have keys to the graveyard at night because a part of your ticket price goes to restoring the headstones and graveyards around Charleston. Very cool!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Hospitable docents make this tour interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We almost passed this church up, but we're glad we didn't. The docents were extremely friendly and knowledgeable and shared freely about the church and its history. The cemetery is open to visitors.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Regardless of your faith, if you love historic cemeteries as much as I do, then this is a must-do. Enter through one of Charleston's distinctive verdant alleys fronted by a wrought iron gate, and you will soon find yourself in a sweet-smelling garden in which the tombstones appear seamlessly with ferns, flowers, moss, and low-hanging branches. I stumbled upon the church and graveyard completely by accident while photographing Charleston's alleys, what a lovely surprise.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Unitarian Church in Charleston also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Unitarian Church in Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Unitarian Church in Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.