We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Mark & Rebel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Cat Tours

Black Cat Tours
1323 Jackwood Court, Charleston, SC 29407
843-568-2285
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 195 Activities in Charleston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore Charleston's haunted, dark and odd history with a company who has a strong commitment to quality over quantity. Owned and operated by authors/historians/investigators Mark R. Jones and Rebel Sinclair, Black Cat offers tours aimed for the travelers who want to step slightly out-of-the-mainstream and do not want to walk with a herd. Mark is the author of five books about Charleston history, and Rebel is the author of two historical novels about Charleston's romance, tragedy and spirits. Call for reservations.
Alcolu, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Love Mark & Rebel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Super knowledgeable folks about all things Charleston!! We've taken several types of tours with Mark and recommend him highly for his tours and his books. His "Wicked Charleston" walking tour is the BOMB! Rebel does the Haunted Tours and, although we haven't taken one of hers yet, we've only heard good things about them. Black Cat Tours is a must do in Charleston if you want to really see the City in a different light ... and if you're not careful, you just might learn something!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    11
    4
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, MI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Four of us ladies took the tour in October 2012. It was horrible. The woman doing the tour spent more time complaining about the politics in Charleston than she did anything else. Her story telling was phony and laughable. Keep away from this tour.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fascinating ghost tour with fun facts of the paranormal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I have been on a few ghost tours of historical cities. We had the pleasure to meet Rebel Sinclair and were under her spell, while she spun a tale of old Charleston. She is very knowledgeable of Charleston's past and has a way of capturing even the bigest cynic's attention of the paranormal. Our next visit to Charleston we will definitely take the tour again, as well as her husbands "Wicked" tour of the city.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great tour of the city, fun; not scary or crude”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a great tour with Rebel on Saturday night. She really knew her stuff and was very passionate about our stories. Would loved to have gone into some buildings or cemeteries, but still enjoyed our time together. I liked that the group is kept to no more than 12 people so that you could hear her clearly. We went down streets that weren't crowded and we hardly encountered another group. They even allowed us to bring our dogs since we had them on a leash. The only reason I think people post negative reviews about this is because they were thinking of an experience similar to a haunted house. This is not that kind of experience, but instead an experience to have fun, learn about some things in Charleston, and enjoy the beauty of this Southern town

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Rebel Sinclair is AWESOME!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I’ve been on many tours, ranging from Savannah to New Orleans to Charleston. Rebel Sinclair is most definitely head and shoulders above the rest. Rebel possesses this infectious energy and story-telling zest that keeps you excited and anxiously waiting for her next story. She also provides details regarding the city that other tour guides may not know about (for example, the direction in which the George Washington statute faces). She is enthusiastic, enticing, and, boy, does she wax poetic! “You do not fall in love with Charleston,” she starts, “the city seduces you.”

After the ghost tour I found out that she was an author. Two days after that tour, my wife and I stumbled into The Old Charleston Ghost Shop and found one of her books by accident. We also learned that she does carriage tours during the day. Thus, began our journey to track her down. After four blocks of walking and inquiries, we finally found her. She graciously autographed the book and chatted with us for a while.

In summary, LOVE HER!

I would gladly do another 100 tours with her.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Cat Tours also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Black Cat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Cat Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.