We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome introduction to Charleston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Original Pub Tour of Charleston

The Original Pub Tour of Charleston
40 North Market Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)
+1 843-577-5535
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 195 Activities in Charleston
Type: Tours, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Check out our one-of-a-kind Original Pub & Brewery Tours of Charleston! Based upon similar beer tours in Europe, we have been featured in the Atlanta Journal Constitution and the Wall Street Journal. The Pub Tour is a fun and unique tour, which includes visits to many historic pubs (some with rooftop views of the city), old taverns frequented by pirates, breweries haunted by ghosts, a dose of history, and a chance to sample some of the area's tasty micro-brews on tap. Our exclusive Brewery Tours highlight Charleston's local craft beer scene and are a great way to sample a variety of local brews while hearing the fascinating story behind Charleston beer, with a behind-the-scenes glimpse of several local breweries. The Original Pub & Brewery Tours are definitely the most exciting way to experience the city and everything LOCAL! We often sell out quickly so we recommend making reservations in advance. We accommodate groups of all sizes and will customize any group/event tours to your specific needs. Cheers!
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Awesome introduction to Charleston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We hit up the pub tour on a Wednesday and were nervous that it would be weird…let me explain. We’re a 30 something couple, who were traveling through Charleston on the way to Savannah for an anniversary trip. It was a Wednesday night so we were afraid that it would just be the two of us and the guide…no such luck though one other couple joined us and the five of us took off.

Daniel, the proprietor of the tour group took us to 5 or 6 pubs, we shared appetizers, craft beer and drinks, and the awesome history of Charleston. This was a great way to get a concise and entertaining backdrop of the city and its history before venturing out on our own. Well worth the time and money!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    29
    9
    8
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Delaware
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pub Tour 10/22/12”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Daniel was our tour guide and he was very accomodating and informative. The pub tour not only gives you the history of the pubs but also a history of Charleston. Highly recommend this tour especially if you are interested in a more relaxed way of touring the city. We got a chance to meet another great couple and try out the local brews which were fantastic. Will definitely do this again!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun afternoon! Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We chose to do the 4pm Original Pub Tour at the last minute, showing up at the office only 15 minutes before the start of the tour. Dan at the counter got us set up and suggested we get ready to go, since we were getting a private tour ... We were the only ones on that tour! Dan treated us like special customers, not at all put out that he was going to take only two people out. Another couple ended up showing up at the very last minute, though, and joined our private tour.
Dan, who turns out is the owner, is VERY knowledgable about the city and its history. The Pubs we visited were pleasant, and we were treated to snippets of pirate stories, prohibition era tales and other entertaining bits of local color.
Come hungry (two of the five stops provided delicious appetizers), and thirsty! Good selection of the local brews at most of the pubs ... Everyone was happy by the end of the fifth stop!
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED if you have a few hours to spend in good company and enjoy hearing history and stories of the area.
Just a note, the drinks and bartender/server tips are not included in the tour price, although the appetizers are included. If you have a beer at each stop, expect to spend an additional $30-$40 per person.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great pub tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I was traveling alone in Charleston so thought this tour would be a good opportunity to meet others while trying out different pubs. It didn't disappoint, I met so many nice people and had a blast. We continued after the tour and made it to one of the roof top bars. Our tour guide Patrick was pretty cool and knowledgeable. We went to 4 pubs but I can't remember all of the names and we had some appetizers at two places. One of these the guide had to organize and buy himself as the office forgot to pre-organize it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Original Pub Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was a great tour and a fun way to learn the history of Charleston. We had a fun, knowledgeable guide. We went to several historic bars and had drinks while we heard stories. There were orderves provided at several locations. As we walked from bar to bar we also stopped to hear stories and look at historic places. Our entire group had fun and I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Charleston.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Pub Tour of Charleston also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Original Pub Tour of Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Original Pub Tour of Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.