We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed twice, both were great stays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites West of the Ashley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites West of the Ashley to your Saves list
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2080 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$99 (USD)
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Augusta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Stayed twice, both were great stays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

All suite hotel, great customer service, well appointed and comfortable rooms. Great location for historic Charleston or a daytrip to Kiawah or Folly Beach. I have high expectations for room cleanliness as well as breakfast area - I was not disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again here at the Comfort Suites. We look forward to your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    174
    37
    14
    6
See reviews for
212
237
24
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
High Point, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here for a whole week and we loved it. The staff was friendly and outgoing. Any questions we had or wanted information they were glady to help. The room was very clean top to bottom. The room had a microwave, safe, flat screen tv, fridge, and a ironing board. The view looks on the street but that is ok.

For breakfast they have eggs, waffles, toast, bagles, coffee or juice. they have milk and three types cereal. they also have yogurt and hard bolied eggs. There is also fruit and pastrys.

The parking lot is kind of small and fills up at night. When you are leaving in the morning it can be very hard to leave the parking lot due to heavy traffic.

we had no problems and we had a great time. when the week is over we washed our clothes for a $1 and to dry it was $3. There was times it was very hot or raining so we took a dip in the inside pool. We are very happy and we will be staying at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malinta OH
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was a first visit to comfort suites but a second visit to Charleston. The hotel is about 10 minutes from the historic area. It is an all suite hotel so you have a sitting area divided from the bed with a small fridge and microwave. They had a mediocre breakfast and the breakfast area is very congested, I would suggest a better layout to them. We also used the laundry and business center, both were very good. Comfy beds, although a bigger pillow would have been nice. I never seen the fresh cookies and lemonade as another member stated. Staff was all very nice and Charlene at the desk was so friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: I think you would be happy with any room, we had one facing the front road and wasn't bothered b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our family stayed here overnight as we were going on a cruise out of Charleston the next day. We wanted a nice, comfortable place to stay that was not expensive and that's what we got! We had very friendly service upon check-in and check-out. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The location was a very short and easy drive to the port. Only negative was the breakfast area where you get your food is small so it's quite crowded. The waffle maker wasn't working properly but the staff was trying very hard to fix it and were very pleasant.
We will probably go back to Charleston to visit the city and we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Quick check-in, clerk was very friendly and welcoming, even made me a complimentary luggage tag from one of my business cards. Ample supply of luggage carts which I appreciated. Room was clean and comfortable with the typical amenities. Wi-Fi was strong and fast. Good channel lineup on the TV. Good hot breakfast. Good location too, right at 526, lots of restaurants in the area and a quick trip to get into downtown Charleston. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Comfortable beds and pillows and a clean bathroom with water pressure in the shower! Could you ask for anything more? Very reasonably priced as we wanted to spend our money trying new dining experiences in Charleston. This was a great hotel choice for us. The staff were courteous and helpful. Definitely on our list for return trips to Charleston SC. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our GPS couldn't figure out how to get us to the parking lot, but we eventually figured out the parking situation. The parking lot is small, so each space will be used at night.
The hotel recycles in the lobby. There was always coffee and cold water available in the lobby and around 4 each afternoon there would be fresh baked cookies and lemonade. The cookies were a nice touch. At night, people would gather around the tables to play cards or board games.
The room was clean, the A/C worked well and the queen beds were very comfortable. The hotel has a convenient laundry facility on-site.
Breakfast provided a nice variety. We must have been down too early to encounter over-crowding, but the hotel did offer an over-flow room.
While we didn't use the exercise room, it looked clean and well-stocked. The pool area was small, but outside access was allowed a person to soak up some son rays.
Our only problem other than parking, was that there weren 't any sheets for the hide-a-bed couch, and the front desk staff was not incredibly friendly upon check-in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites West of the Ashley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites West of the Ashley

Address: 2080 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#11 Business Hotel in Charleston
#16 Family Hotel in Charleston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites West of the Ashley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites West of the Ashley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites West Of The Ashley Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.