We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites West of the Ashley

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites West of the Ashley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2080 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$89 (USD)
Ranked #15 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Tunkhannock, PA
1 review
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This Comfort Suites is the cleanest, friendliest hotel we have ever stayed at. The staff was very helpful, courteous and very professional. We can't wait for our next trip and our stay at this hotel.
We would be sure to recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to South Carolina.

Room Tip: All rooms must have the highest quality, because our two rooms were fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    348
    147
    29
    10
    5
See reviews for
181
208
23
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
RICHMOND
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was my first trip to Charleston and this Comfort Suites. I was very impressed by the outside appearance upon arrival. I was greeted promptly and when I opened the door to my room, I couldn't have been more pleased. It was a very large room, great working space and was very clean.
The business center had everything I needed, the breakfast was fresh and presented nicely and again, the staff was as friendly and attentive as they could be.
I will stay here on all my future visits.

Room Tip: Nothing to add, every aspect of my stay was great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My wife and I had the distinct pleasure of staying at the referenced hotel and were pleased with the quality of the rooms and the efficiency, competence and politeness of the staff, in particular Laura, who checked us in and provided excellent directions for our enjoyment of the Charleston area. Our room was perfectly prepared and immaculately clean. Thank you for your attention to detail and your absolutely superb staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

When I was booking this stay through Orbitz, I had previously viewed what was available near the St Francis Hospital and when I went back to book, I "mistakenly" booked this motel instead of our intended place to stay. I was very pleasantly surprised after I discovered my error and reached this motel. It is in a very convenient location, easy on and easy off the main hwy. This motel is in a nice section of Charleston with no worries about your vehicle after dark. The lobby is nice, the staff was very pleasant when checking in and the room was very clean, well equipted and the bed was great for a good night's sleep. The continental breakfast is a good one and overall, my wife and I were very pleased wih the "mistake" that I made. If only all of my mistakes turned out this well.

Room Tip: If you happen to be visiting someone at the St Francis Hospita, this is about 1.6 miles and one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was our first visit to Charleston, SC, therefore I had no idea which hotel to stay during our visit. As a Choice Hotel member, I put my total confidence in them and we stayed at the Comfort Suites West of the Ashley. I am happy to state that we made a great choice. Upon check in, the desk registra, Kim was extremely professional and helpful. The adjoining rooms were extremely clean and lot's of room. At the end of the night, the shower head even made
our stay more relaxing. A hot breakfast was available from 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m., this was a major plus because we did not have to leave the hotel premises to feed our children breakfast. This even made our stay even more enjoyable. Overall, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Restaurants were near. I will visit this hotel location again and again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

wife and i came dn from charlotte to restock our freezer with seafood ,no luck with that deal but we did find a great hotel and a great city to have fun.as we enter the front lobby which is great,we found a little store with sweet treats,the best part was meeting kim at the front desk
who went out of way to help my wife with a little problem . The room we were in was very nice this weekend's weather was 70' in jan. WOW.. We were able to use all the facilities. pool,gym, business center, breakfast. Very nice place to relax and enjoy Charleston..This place gets 5 stars from me. bobbyandbj gibson charlotte nc

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ga
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Wife and I decided last second to head to Charleston and what a great find in a hotel. Nice price and we were within 10 mins of the plantations, downtown and the beach. One letdown is the 1/2 pillows. Comfort Suites really needs to revisit this. So next trip I will remember to bring my own real pillow. Some road noise could be heard from the 2nd floor room we had.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites West of the Ashley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites West of the Ashley

Address: 2080 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
#13 Family Hotel in Charleston
#15 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites West of the Ashley 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Suites West of the Ashley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites West Of The Ashley Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.