We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites West of the Ashley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites West of the Ashley to your Saves list
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2080 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend getaway and was very happy with the hotel. The room was clean and spacious. The location is about 5 miles from downtown, but is a trade off for the lower price and easy parking compared to hotels in/near downtown. The free breakfast includes cold item and a few daily hot items such as waffles, sausage and eggs. The quality of the breakfast was slightly lower then what is normally served at other comfort suites, but is still good. The bed was comfortable, but I do not personally like the switch comfort suites has made from normal pillows to an assortment of five small square pillows.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    163
    33
    13
    6
See reviews for
204
225
23
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We have six children and needed a winter get-away that would meet our needs AND those of the children. From the beginning, Charlene was the reason we chose to stay here. By phone, she was patient and helpful, answering my questions and helping me make reservations. Once we were there, she was always beaming at the front desk - anything we needed, she was there to help. The kids had an indoor pool and free breakfast buffet (meeting their requirements). My husband and I had an adjoining room allowing us to have a little break from the kids. Cynthia, who was in charge of the breakfast each morning helped me arrange seating for 8. All around, it was a great stay and we'll be back again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I traveled about 5 hours by car with our 2 1/2 year old son to Charleston for a weekend. After reading my reviews of nearby (inexpensive) hotels, we picked this hotel. IT WAS GREAT!!! Check-in was very quick and it seemed as though they were ready for us (since we check it around 7pm). Our room was VERY clean and we had no problems the entire time. The indoor pool was great and fun for our son as well as the business center when we had to send a few emails. The free breakfast in the morning was just what we needed. You had free coffee, juice, milk as well as oatmeal, bagels, waffles, eggs, sausage and fruit. The only downfall I would say was the location. Not the absolute best area around the hotel but the hotel itself was perfect for what we were looking for. MANY restaurants nearby and only about 12-15 minute to downtown Charleston. NO PROBLEMS!! GREAT HOTEL!!! Couldn't have asked for a better hotel at such a great rate!!!!

Room Tip: Choose an accessible room and its much roomier!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

It was a pretty nice place and not too far from downtown Charleston. Rooms were roomy, with a separate area with a couch. Included breakfast in the morning. One big complaint: one night there were very loud and rowdy people in the pool area and they woke us up. Turns out the pool is open 24 hours, which did not make us happy. Everything else went well, though.

Room Tip: Not near the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The accommodation at Comfort Suites-West of The Ashely was great . I was very pleased. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Charlene's efforts were outstanding in helping to my first visit in Charleston a great visit. I am looking foward in coming back to West of The Ashely to visit all the history there in Charleston.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grovetown, Georgia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Hotel was very clean. Rooms were great. Beds and pillows very comfortable. Charlene at the front desk is the best! She has amazing customer service skills and made me feel like we were old friends!
Temperature in the rooms was a little difficult to control and placement of the heating/air unit caused air to blow on us in the bed. But it wasn't so bad that I wouldn't stay again.
Overall good experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We were in Charleston for 3 days and then went to Myrtle Beach. I noticed that this hotel was already highly rated, and the location was what we were looking for. At almost any price, it would be hard to do any better than this hotel. Great room service, super location, friendly staff, good hot breakfast, very clean, quiet rooms, and easy, safe parking. Next time I come to Charleston, this is where I will stay. Glad we decided to stay for 3 nights instead of just 2. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites West of the Ashley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites West of the Ashley

Address: 2080 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites West of the Ashley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites West of the Ashley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites West Of The Ashley Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.