We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th birthday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites West of the Ashley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites West of the Ashley to your Saves list
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2080 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Deltona, Florida
1 review
“50th birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Motel was really great. Staff awesome too. Kim made our time there very special. Great location, breakfast really good and the desk made it easy to find places. Alot of history in the area. So many places to see. The hotel had all the things we were looking for. Surprised of the location, but the room was quite. Keep up the great job!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about kim. I will make sure your compliment is relayed to her. It is folks like yourself that make us strive even harder to be one of the best places to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    163
    33
    13
    6
See reviews for
204
225
23
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Positives first
1. Location
2. Charlene was very nice
3. Price
Negatives
1. Room was not cleaned our first full day there and when we arrived back at 9pm we discovered this issue. We had fresh towels brought to our room but didn't have it cleaned because we just wanted to shower and sleep after a long day in Charelston. We even asked the front desk person to make sure our room was cleaned when we left in the morning because the cleaning people started at our end of the hotel and we were still in the room at 10:30 am. When we checked out today my wife mentioned this to the fromt desk person, said that she told them to clean and there was nothing she could do when my wife asked for a discount on the stay. Not that I am sorry or anything else on her part. The morning before this same desk person was talking to other staff and her mouth was terrible for the lobby of a hotel with kids around.
2. Breakfast - poor selections. Terrible coffee and ran out of creamer. waffles were sticking to the maker and when we asked the lady working that area she said they had no spray and would have maintenance clean it. Maintenance ? Don't understand that one.
3. Dining area was so disgusting. Sticky and after people ate the breakfast person was not cleaning a thing. She would come out every so often to check the food and then disappear again.
4. Employee Blazer parked outside the front door each night. Why? People trying to unload vehicles and there was only one lane available because of this. Makes no sense at all.
5. Rooms were not very clean. There was still soap scum in the bath tub area.

We stayed here because it looked good in the reviews but very average at best. Morning desk person not helpful at all. It is worth paying the extra 20-30 a night for a better hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for letting us know of the problems that occurred during your stay. I will take this up with all of our staff. We did although notice that you did have a do not disturb sign on your door and this is why the housekeeping department did not service your room. As you can see by our many great reviews is that this is a very rare situation. I apologize for the inconvenience this caused you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pass Christian, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff was very friendly eager to please. The room was well-appointed and clean. The only drawback (and the reason for 4 instead of 5 stars) is getting out of the parking lot without having to deal with traffic or a wait for an opening. There's really not anything the hotel can do about it so I shouldn't complain, just be aware at rush hour that you may wait awhile to get going in the right direction! Otherwise, all about this place was truly wonderful and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My family planned a wonderful surprise baby shower for me at the Comfort Suites in West Ashley. The staff, Ms. Laura and Ms.Charlene went above and beyond to make sure everything was set up prefectly..When I arrrived, the hotel was clean, and pleasant with a warm smile from the guest relations personnel..During my stay I was able to enjoy my luxurious clean room with a jucuzzi and king size bed. The hotel is minutes away from the historical city in which we shop and ate dinner downtown..Thanks for making my stay so enjoyable!!!

Ms. Gwen 2012

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for kind review on Charlene and laura. I will make sure that I relay your kind words to them. We look forward to possibly having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent two nights here along with another couple. We had lovely rooms, quiet and nicely appointed with sofa, fridge, microwave. Near a mall and if you get the Charleston streets figured out, easy to get to. Only issue was getting out of the parking lot requires going left and down a block or two to make a U-turn to go into Charleston and it is a busy highway. Breakfast was good and hot. Would definitely stay there again. Like the fact that the a/c/heater fan stays on for constant white noise and doesn't cycle on and off. Helps block outside noise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisbury, nc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

great hotel for my pleasure trip nice quiet lolbby great outdoor sitting area, indoor pool, ner shopping and attractions great price just a wonderful experience
easy access to city near boating dock valuble coupons in lobby to be used for discounts on sites
ner the battery
horse and crriage ride gives great infomation on city

Room Tip: ask for room with the view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lebanon, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Good location just outside of downtown. Our room was large, quite and clean which is a huge plus. I went to get ice on the 3rd floor our first day and noticed someone dumped some disgusting food in the ice machine, we told the night attendant about it and they ignored it. Still there the second night they ignored it. It was not cleaned up through our entire 3 night stay. There was also something spilled on the floor of the elevator on the right that was there our entire stay. First day we were there they served sausage patties for breakfast, the other 2 days they served sausage pieces and scrambled eggs mixed. Employees we found to be unresponsive and distant, but at least our room was nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for bringing to our attention the problems with the ice machine. As you can see by our many reviews that this is very rare with our cleanliness. This has been brought to the attention of our staff. Hope that you will come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites West of the Ashley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites West of the Ashley

Address: 2080 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#24 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites West of the Ashley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites West of the Ashley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites West Of The Ashley Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.