We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“~~Wonderful Hotel~~” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites West of the Ashley

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites West of the Ashley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2080 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$99 (USD)
Ranked #13 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“~~Wonderful Hotel~~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My family planned a wonderful surprise baby shower for me at the Comfort Suites in West Ashley. The staff, Ms. Laura and Ms.Charlene went above and beyond to make sure everything was set up prefectly..When I arrrived, the hotel was clean, and pleasant with a warm smile from the guest relations personnel..During my stay I was able to enjoy my luxurious clean room with a jucuzzi and king size bed. The hotel is minutes away from the historical city in which we shop and ate dinner downtown..Thanks for making my stay so enjoyable!!!

Ms. Gwen 2012

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for kind review on Charlene and laura. I will make sure that I relay your kind words to them. We look forward to possibly having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    324
    128
    26
    9
    4
See reviews for
166
182
21
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent two nights here along with another couple. We had lovely rooms, quiet and nicely appointed with sofa, fridge, microwave. Near a mall and if you get the Charleston streets figured out, easy to get to. Only issue was getting out of the parking lot requires going left and down a block or two to make a U-turn to go into Charleston and it is a busy highway. Breakfast was good and hot. Would definitely stay there again. Like the fact that the a/c/heater fan stays on for constant white noise and doesn't cycle on and off. Helps block outside noise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisbury, nc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

great hotel for my pleasure trip nice quiet lolbby great outdoor sitting area, indoor pool, ner shopping and attractions great price just a wonderful experience
easy access to city near boating dock valuble coupons in lobby to be used for discounts on sites
ner the battery
horse and crriage ride gives great infomation on city

Room Tip: ask for room with the view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lebanon, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Good location just outside of downtown. Our room was large, quite and clean which is a huge plus. I went to get ice on the 3rd floor our first day and noticed someone dumped some disgusting food in the ice machine, we told the night attendant about it and they ignored it. Still there the second night they ignored it. It was not cleaned up through our entire 3 night stay. There was also something spilled on the floor of the elevator on the right that was there our entire stay. First day we were there they served sausage patties for breakfast, the other 2 days they served sausage pieces and scrambled eggs mixed. Employees we found to be unresponsive and distant, but at least our room was nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for bringing to our attention the problems with the ice machine. As you can see by our many reviews that this is very rare with our cleanliness. This has been brought to the attention of our staff. Hope that you will come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed 2 nights, easy to find, and situated on and near major roads, sometimes difficult to get into entrance. Near to restaurants. Reception spacious, and staff helpful and friendly. Room clean spacious, with 1 bed very comfortable, flat screen TV, small separate area with table and chairs. Fridge and microwave with coffee making facilities. Bathroom clean and toiletries provided. Breakfast ok, included cereals, pancakes, muffins, fresh fruit, juice and coffee. Free WIFI , would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We arrived late and Charlene greeted us. She is a huge plus to this hotel. Friendly, cheerful and welcoming. She is VERY good at her job. The beds were the best of all three hotels on this trip. We really enjoyed our stay and had no problems at all. At breakfast we were served by Cynthia and she was also extremely welcoming and caring. The only problem we had was with other guests who pushed their way around the dining area. They opened one of the meeting rooms for overflow which is rare at any hotel. It was a great idea as the hotel was full. I would recommend and would stay again. Just off I-526 and minutes from downtown. Better than where we had stayed before off I-26 north of Charleston. Stayed on 10/11/12.

Room Tip: We always avoid staying by the ice machine or the elevator so no problems with our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and staff. I will make sure that your compliments are relayed to Charlene and Cynthia whom are great employees and are a great asset to the company. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

When I complained in the am that drunk guests at 3 am swimming in the pool disrupted our sleep I was told that the hotel pool is open 24 hrs. A pool open 24 hrs, that is inviting trouble. I will say that when I called the desk at 3am they said they would make an attempt to get them out and it did quiet down around 4am. The hotel condition was a bit rundown, little mold in shower, scratches on furniture, but it was clean. Breakfast was so-so, I have had much better at Hampton Inns. I guess you get what you pay for. One plus-The front desk staff were very nice and allowed us to check in early.

Room Tip: Do not get a room on 2nd floor next to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesWA, General Manager at Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I am very sorry that your stay was interrupted by the loud noise coming from the pool area. I can assure you that this incident is very isolated and hasn't occurred before. I will definietly address this with our staff also. Thank you for addressing your concerns and hope that you will come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites West of the Ashley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites West of the Ashley

Also Known As:
Comfort Suites West Of The Ashley Hotel Charleston
Comfort Suites West Of The Ashley Hotel
Address: 2080 Savannah Hwy, Charleston, SC 29407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#10 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites West of the Ashley 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Suites West of the Ashley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites West of the Ashley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.