We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“walk through our history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Slave Mart Museum

Old Slave Mart Museum
6 Chalmers St., Charleston, SC 29401 (French Quarter)
843-958-6467
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 96 Attractions in Charleston
Type: History Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Summerville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“walk through our history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We took visiting friends to this museum. Two lovely ladies greeted us with warmth and information.
As we strolled through the museum we enjoyed the exhibits. I could imagine what the building was like when the slaves were traded.
Being a small facility we had time to visit more attractions in Charleston.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    111
    49
    33
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Worthwhile part of our trip to Charleston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We learnt a lot, and found the recorded eye witness accounts and and other exhibits really intersting. It rounded out our trip to Charleston and being a small museum makes it do-able.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“wasted hour”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This museum could be wonderful. However, it was a total waste of an hour. There is plenty of information about slavery in the country. I saw no reason to repeat the same information over and over again in this museum. It is poorly lit. I found more amusement walking on the cobblestone street out front. Save your money

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing and bland”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We visited this museum to learn more about the struggles and treatment of the many African/Americans, what a disappointment. It cost $7 dollars each and it consisted of two rooms. Most of the information was displayed on the wall in long extracts that were difficult to read due to the small space and other people walking in front or pushing through. The text was bland and uninteresting and I learnt nothing new about the trials and tribulations of those poor souls transported in appalling conditions to a life of hardship. Upstairs there were a few posters and exhibits but after 30 minutes we'd seen everything. Not very good value for money, a real shame.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Enjoyed this a lot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

A real value. The museum is small and if you are not one who likes to read, this is not for you. This was one of the exhibits to lend the enslaved a voice in the history of Charleston. It was appreciated and well displayed. I particularly enjoyed the books in the entry as well as the personal testimony of former slaves that have been made available at this location. There has to be one place in Charleston to remind the visitor that the mansions and the city itself was built and maintained its splendor because of the enslaved human beings that were kept as property by the founding fathers and citizens of Charleston.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Slave Mart Museum also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Old Slave Mart Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Slave Mart Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.