We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice grounds, use your imagination” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Middleton Place

Middleton Place
4300 Ashley River Road, Charleston, SC 29414
+1 843-556-6020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 108 Attractions in Charleston
Type: Gardens, Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Middleton Place is an 18th century rice plantation and National Historic Landmark comprising 65 acres of America's oldest landscaped Gardens, the Middleton Place House Museum and the Plantation Stableyards. The Gardens reflect the elegant symmetry of 17th century European design. Sculpted terraces, parterres, and reflection pools inhabited by swans are highlights of their intricate design. Rare camellias bloom in the winter, while vibrant azaleas blanket the hillside above the Mill Pond in the spring.
Roswell, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice grounds, use your imagination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We toured the one remaining building (house/museum,) and it is remarkable in that so many of the family artifacts have been preserved. The tour guide was very informative and helpful, and we learned much about life during those times. The main house was destroyed during the Civil War. Standing at the ruins, one can imagine the family enjoying the view of terraced lawn and "butterfly lakes." Go early to ensure that you can take a carriage tour and see the gardens. Unfortunately we did not arrive early enough before the last one left.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    866
    386
    123
    40
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

For anyone who enjoys gardening or visiting gardens, Middleton is a dream come true. Acre after acre of beautiful scenery. Big enough that even if they have a lot of visitors, you aren't bumping into others. Plan to bring a good camera and comfortable shoes. If in the summer (like our visit) cool clothes, a hat and water are a must. Little kids will enjoy the open spaces.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, MS
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lots of history, but not nearly as pretty in the summer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The house, grounds, packets, buildings, and guides are full I great information. This was my second time there. It was gorgeous in February. Very few flowers in July. Great views, but sad gardens compared to the spring. Also, FYI, the movie "Scarlett" was filmed in part here, so see the places where Timothy Dalton, Julie Harris, Jean Smart, Annabeth Gish, and Joanne Whalley performed. They won't tell you this so you'll have to watch the movie ahead of time to know.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate, just go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Wanted to visit at least one plantation during my visit and Middleton Place came highly recommended by previous visitors and residents alike.

I arrived on a Monday and was lucky enough to snag a last- minute seat on the carriage tour which offered a tour of the open grounds and a historical background on the property- very interesting.

I also bought a tour ticket for the main house and had a relaxing and delicious lunch at the restaurant. The house tour was very informative and a great add- on to the day after walking through the beautifully groomed gardens.

There is also a garden center and a very nice gift shop!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Walk through a Difficult Part of History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The beauty of this place is undeniable! The grounds are beautifully maintained and it is ran by employees and volunteers who are clearly proud to be there.

I appreciated that we were able to show our kids such a beautiful place while also introducing them to a complicated and difficult part of our history.

The guides provided factual and I unbiased tours of the grounds.

If you have younger kids (ours are 5) the general admission, and possibly the tour of the main house, is good enough. The kids got a kick out of being able to get lost and navigate through the grounds. After touring the main house, stop by the slave cabin on the property to experience the stark contrast in realities.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Middleton Place also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Middleton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Middleton Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.