We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Middleton Place

Middleton Place
4300 Ashley River Road, Charleston, SC 29414
+1 843-556-6020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 219 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Middleton Place is an 18th century rice plantation and National Historic Landmark comprising 65 acres of America's oldest landscaped Gardens, the Middleton Place House Museum and the Plantation Stableyards. The Gardens reflect the elegant symmetry of 17th century European design. Sculpted terraces, parterres, and reflection pools inhabited by swans are highlights of their intricate design. Rare camellias bloom in the winter, while vibrant azaleas blanket the hillside above the Mill Pond in the spring.
Milford
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“beautiful grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Went here for a wedding last weekend. Got here early, and decided to explore the grounds on our own. Lots of livestock, (horses, goats, and sheep) and beautiful landscaping. The original mansion was no longer there, but there were displays of the tannery, soap and candle making, harvesting rice and corn (with the actual tools). Wish we spent more time with the historical part. The wedding setting was perfect! A stroll through the gardens, swans in the ponds, peacocks roaming etc. A perfect day!!! The food that the caterers provided was superb until they ran out of our designated entree. Never heard of such a thing. That put a damper on the whole day! Can't blame Middleton, but the wedding planner and caterer. Shame on them! Oh and yes, don't wear high heels to any events here. I put mine in a bag until the reception. Lots of walking on sandy roads.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,019
    458
    138
    47
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flower Mound, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Destination Wedding Reception”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This beautiful southern plantation has some of the most beautiful scenery we have ever witnessed, with its large oak trees covered with moss and beautiful walks along the lake with perfectly manicured gardens everywhere we walked. Then the wonderful treat of vodka and lemonade and then an open bar with plenty of low country comfort foods and finally a wonderful reception with another wonderful full course meal. We loved every minute of our experience at Middleton Place

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren C, Public Relations Manager at Middleton Place, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! Middleton Place hosts many weddings throughout the year, and while the property itself is perfectly amazing, wedding experiences are complete thanks to the short list of top-tier wedding planners, caterers and bar services we partner with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tionesta, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“glad we did this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

When the weather played havoc with our original plans today, we decided to go visit a plantation and at the recommendation of our walking tour guide in Charleston, picked Middleton Place. We were not disappointed and totally believe that God postponed our plans so that we wouldn't missed this great tour! The grounds are magnificent. We took the complimentary tour of the gardens and enjoyed the walk and identifications of the beautiful plants and flowers. We also took the tour (extra fee) of the house which was interesting and provided us the opportunity to learn more of the history of the Middleton's as well as see the items on display. We then did our own self-guided tour of the rest of the plantations where you can visit the blacksmith, potter and cobbler as well as view the horse and carriage stables and check out the other animals. All is all it was a Great afternoon! Would definitely recommend visiting Middleton Place!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pequannock, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The grounds are breathtaking! A must-see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This old plantation was gorgeous. The trees and gardens are breathtaking. If you can, take a horse and carriage ride and enjoy your surroundings! Make sure you take the house tour as well! We spent several hours there so give yourself at least 1/2 day there!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Morning Back In Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

After pourIng over reviews of the different plantations around Charleston we finally decided to tour Middleton Place. We only toured the gardens since the home tour was an extra charge but didn't feel like we missed much. The grounds are beautiful and the other buildings are very interesting. I geese with all of the other review, a morning well spent. Also be sure to stop in and have lunch at the restaurant. The fried pimento cheese I read about is not to be missed, also try the fried green tomatoes!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Middleton Place also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Middleton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Middleton Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.