We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive and Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charles Towne Landing State Historic Site

Charles Towne Landing State Historic Site
1500 Old Towne Rd, Charleston, SC 29407
843 852 4200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 222 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Running
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A historic village recreating the life and times of America's early settlers.
Audubon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Visited here July, 2014 and found this to be a very interested place. We did not see everything because it was very hot but what we saw was great. There was a small museum that explained the settlement. Also, there was a little tram ride that brought us to a replica of a small boat that carried cargo up and down the east coast. We had an excellent ranger who told us about the ship. There were about 10 children, 9 and under on the ship, and you could tell that they were enjoying his talk because when he asked if they wanted to see down into the hold of the ship, they all ran to the area to look in. We did not go into the replica of what they thought was there because of the heat. The cost of minimal compared to other sites we have seen. I know others did not give it a good review but we enjoyed it and we travel all the time to various locations.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    92
    21
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Historical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Beautiful self guided walking tour of the original settlement of Charleston. Great for families on a budget and in search of historical significance.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Would not recommend”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Visited with husband and 3 young children. Very disappointed. First of all. It was 98 degrees and almost no shade at all. Then, the zoo was awful. The poor animals were sweltering in the heat. There was no water for them to cool off in or drink. They all looked sick and miserable. It was do hot we couldn't even continue for the trails. My children were not interested in anything but the animals. Probably a better experience for older children.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Educational fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We enjoyed our trip to Charles Towne landing. It is relatively inexpensive and very educational about the lives of the early settlers to Charleston. There is a wildlife experience area so you may see alligators and how the early settlers lived in the area. There is some walking involved so be prepared for the need to do this (probably 2 miles of walking involved). The building that houses the visitor's area is a beautiful, modern, architecturally designed building. It was interesting to see juxtaposed with the old homesites.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint George, South Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fun Outdoors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I have been here on field trips and I always loved it. My husband and I came and really enjoyed the day. We watched them shoot the cannons which happens every third Saturday. Very wonderful experience. The staff was very helpful and truly have an interest for the history. Most of them are actually volunteers. Definitely gonna go back!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charles Towne Landing State Historic Site also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charles Towne Landing State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charles Towne Landing State Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.