We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charles Towne Landing State Historic Site

Charles Towne Landing State Historic Site
1500 Old Towne Rd, Charleston, SC 29407
843 852 4200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 230 things to do in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Running
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A historic village recreating the life and times of America's early settlers.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Historical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Beautiful self guided walking tour of the original settlement of Charleston. Great for families on a budget and in search of historical significance.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    104
    25
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would not recommend”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Visited with husband and 3 young children. Very disappointed. First of all. It was 98 degrees and almost no shade at all. Then, the zoo was awful. The poor animals were sweltering in the heat. There was no water for them to cool off in or drink. They all looked sick and miserable. It was do hot we couldn't even continue for the trails. My children were not interested in anything but the animals. Probably a better experience for older children.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Educational fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We enjoyed our trip to Charles Towne landing. It is relatively inexpensive and very educational about the lives of the early settlers to Charleston. There is a wildlife experience area so you may see alligators and how the early settlers lived in the area. There is some walking involved so be prepared for the need to do this (probably 2 miles of walking involved). The building that houses the visitor's area is a beautiful, modern, architecturally designed building. It was interesting to see juxtaposed with the old homesites.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint George, South Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun Outdoors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I have been here on field trips and I always loved it. My husband and I came and really enjoyed the day. We watched them shoot the cannons which happens every third Saturday. Very wonderful experience. The staff was very helpful and truly have an interest for the history. Most of them are actually volunteers. Definitely gonna go back!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

This place was great. I highly recommend going here. They have a small zoo with bears, deer, and other animals, a great history walk where you can go on a boat from the period and learn about sailing. The staff here were very nice and answered all my daughters questions. Also the cannon's and 1 room house were very interesting. If you little ones want to know how people lived in the old days take them here.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charles Towne Landing State Historic Site also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charles Towne Landing State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charles Towne Landing State Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.