We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to take the kids.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charles Towne Landing

Charles Towne Landing
1500 Old Towne Rd, Charleston, SC 29407
843 852 4200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 96 Attractions in Charleston
Type: Historic Sites, Outdoors
Activities: Running
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A historic village recreating the life and times of America's early settlers.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to take the kids.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We spent a couple of hours today at Charles Town Landing and it really is a nice place to bring the kids. Not only is it a historic site but it also has a small animal preserve. There are picnic areas and lots of space for the kids to run around. They really had alot of fun ( especially after a couple of hours of driving to Charleston). We didn't have enough time to explore the other areas of the park but from what we saw it was quite nice.
Tip: they allow bikes and scooters on the trails. If you have younger children a scooter may make the walking more fun for them.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    71
    21
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great for history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We went to Charles Towne Landing because I have a state park pass and we were looking for something different to do on our trip. There was a lot to learn in the visitors center and a lot to see throughout the park (including animals!). It was very interesting to see and learn about how Charleston first started. Very pretty place, bring your camera!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Where the colonists settled BEFORE Charleston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The visitor center has a well laid out presentation of the history of how the colonists began to settle the area. Lots of great historical facts. The grounds have several trails you can take. We only went on the historical trail which is about 1 1/2 miles. Beautiful grounds - spanish moss trees, flowers, a replica of a traders ship and more. Definitely a must to visit if you have a few days in the Charleston area.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not Advertised Enough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

I had been there at least 30 years ago and remembered how much I liked it then. I decided to go back again when I was in Charleston. It was great I cannot believe it is not advertised more. It was very clean and peaceful there it is a piece of history everyone should see.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Historical to say the least!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

One of the first landings in the United States. A remake of an old ship like the ones that first came over and landed here. Beautiful grounds and much history to learn.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charles Towne Landing also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charles Towne Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charles Towne Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.