We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay museum” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gibbes Museum of Art

Gibbes Museum of Art
135 Meeting St., Charleston, SC SC 29401 (Downtown)
+1 843-722-2706
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 219 things to do in Charleston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Gibbes temporarily closed for major renovations and will reopen its doors in the spring of 2016. The renovation project is designed to showcase the museum's collection, provide visitors with a history of American art from the early colonial era to the present, and engage the public with educational programs, classes, and events. During the renovation the museum will continue to engage the community in the arts with programs, classes, and event.
Minnetonka
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Okay museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is an okay museum, although it is pretty light on the art part of it. The history part of this museum is what was interesting to me. From an artistic standpoint, this museum is really lacking. I gave it 3 stars, though, because I thought it was interesting to see the portraits of the people I've been hearing about at the other museums/tours and seeing the Civil War photography.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    34
    10
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
104 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Very Nice Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I have been trying to go to art museums in the various towns we visit. We are sometimes pleased and sometimes disappointed. At the Gibbes, we were certainly pleased. This is a small museum with mainly local historical art of various types. We think the building is very nice and the art is very unique and well organized. There is a discount for seniors, so the fee was very reasonable. The art is high quality and makes for a couple of hours of pleasant viewing.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unique and wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our tour guide Lisa recommended we check out the collection of miniatures here and we decided to give it a shot. It's a small museum, but worth the time and cost. Wide variety of art and history. Would do it again if we bring others with us on our next visit. Perhaps needs some restoration in some areas, but overall a nice way to spend an hour or 90 minutes.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Place to Enjoy Local Fine Art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

There were many great works of local and historically significant art to the Charleston area history. We were lucky to catch a show of museum collection works that were voted favorites of local art aficionados. There were some gilded age marbles that were breathtaking!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Small but wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed the Gibbes. It's a small museum, easily done in a few hours depending on how much time you spend looking at the pieces on display. I loved the combination of the historical pieces and the art.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gibbes Museum of Art also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Gibbes Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gibbes Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.