We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour Around the Citadel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Citadel

The Citadel
171 Moultrie Street, Charleston, SC 29409, Charleston, SC
843/953-5006
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 96 Attractions in Charleston
Type: Other, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A historic military college best known for its Moorish-inspired architecture.
Twinsburg, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tour Around the Citadel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Although we didn't stop at the Citadel, we passed through as part of our tour, took photos, and enjoyed the History Lesson from our Tour Guide.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    81
    19
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“great place to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

it was very interesting and a site to see. The kids love it!! The water ride to it was very nice also.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Zzzzzzzzzzzzzz”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Not really a destination to travel to. You can take a drive around the campus, see an F-4 Phantom, a Huey helicopter, a tank...grass, trees, ZZZZZZZZzzzz..There are better things to do in Charleston than waste time there.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great place for local souvenirs, and quick stop for food and music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The citadel has a great location and offers an opportunity to shop souvenirs in one location. The music was good and it offers a quick snack stop

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fun to see”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The Citadel is definitely fun to see while your in Charleston. My son enjoyed seeing the cannons, fighter aircraft and the tanks. We sat in the square and just relaxed under the trees for awhile. If you like the show HOUSE OF CARDS, this is the university that Frank Underwood graduated from - so... it's worth seeing! :)

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Citadel also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Citadel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Citadel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.