We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive Campus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Citadel

The Citadel
171 Moultrie Street, Charleston, SC 29409, Charleston, SC
843/953-5006
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 96 Attractions in Charleston
Type: Other, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A historic military college best known for its Moorish-inspired architecture.
Conroe, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Impressive Campus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Drive through tour on trolley. Beautiful campus. Interesting to learn that students do not graduate as military officers. Would like to see their military review.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    79
    19
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
82 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

It was good to see the campus. If you are in the area and like to see college campuses then take the time to visit. It is in Downtown area and easy to get to and can be seen in a short ride through campus.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawsonville, Georgia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We drove through the grounds and they are lovely. Beautiful old buildings
I hate review areas that have a minimum character limit like this one which says 50 characters and I typed 74 characters and it still would not submit, so I am writing this.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartwell, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The campus is really nice. We walked around looking at the different buildings and taking pictures. The museum was great also.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Citadel visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We have visited many times as my husband is class of '93. Our boys love walking around the parade deck and seeing the cannons and planes. And it's a bonus when the cadets are around, but we often visit when school is out.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Citadel also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Citadel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Citadel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.