We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent campground...will definitely be returning!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of James Island County Park Campground & Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
James Island County Park Campground & Cottages
Save
You added James Island County Park Campground & Cottages to your Saves list
871 Riverland Drive, Charleston, SC 29412 (James Island)   |  
Hotel amenities
Dayton, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent campground...will definitely be returning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This campground is close to everything, very clean and has lots of amenities. The sites are very roomy and private and surrounded by palmetto trees...you really feel like you're in South Carolina, not just another campground. My husband and daughter loved roller blading around the many walking paths and exploring the campground and surrounding areas. We spent one afternoon at the water park which is a little pricey and probably more suitable for younger kids but my kids still enjoyed it. It's only 15-20 minutes from Folly Beach and your campground pass gets you free parking at the public lot at the beach which was really handy. Charleston and Mt. Pleasant are both within about 15-20 minutes and there is a Walmart, Publix and Walgreen's very close by which is always great to have. We will definitely be going back and will make James Island our home base, again!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad site at this campground!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
35
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The campground is located between Charleston and Folly Beach and off the main roads so its quiet and peaceful. The trees along the route in are becoming overgrown a bit so if you have a 5th wheel or class A watch for them and your roof. Sites are sand, dirt and it had rained heavily the previous the day before our arrival, so some mud.
Many sites of the sites are separated from neighboring sites by some threes/shrubs. Both Pull-thrus and back-ins available. Bathrooms are large and clean and Laundry facilities are available. We do like state and county parks much better than the commercial parks like KOA which are getting overpriced. Available places to dump you trash seemed to few.
Again watch for the trees when driving into this area branches are low and could cause a puncture of you roof material.

Room Tip: This is located in the center of Charleston and easy around and see all there is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We love this campground for its proximity to Charleston and the free shuttle into town! The RV sites are private, well-maintained and very roomy. There are great bike trails with lakes, streams, waterfowl and other amenities that make it a gem of a park!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was a great campground that is close to city area. The prices were at a good and affordable rate. The bathhouses were clean (and eco-friendly). We wished that we had more time to explore the county park since it seems there was a lot to do on the property. There is enough privacy and they didn't have annoying people/families that were staying there (at least in the electric/water sites).

Definitely would recommend to other who want to camp at a non-KOA place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We visited this park twice, once to tent camp and once we stayed in a cottage for a week. The paved trails are great for biking, walking, or roller blading and the location can't be beat. We were close to everything! I would not recommend staying in a cottage unless you like to clean on your vacation. Ours was old and outdated...more like a rustic cabin on stilts. It looked like it hadn't had a deep cleaning in forever. Luckily, we weren't in the cabin a lot. It wasn't a place we wanted to lounge around in.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavares, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed for three nights. Great grounds, amenities and campsites. Close to all Charleston attractions. Restroom facilities were terrible the entire stay. Looked like they were never cleaned, dirty and lots of mold. Did speak to management as this is overall a park we would want stay at again when coming through.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We only camped for 1 night but were very happy with the location (short drive to beach and restaurants), cleanliness of bathrooms (showers), and amenities available including fishing sites and bike/walking paths. Staff were friendly too!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to James Island County Park Campground & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Island County Park Campground & Cottages

Address: 871 Riverland Drive, Charleston, SC 29412
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > James Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Charleston
Number of rooms: 124
Also Known As:
James Island County Park Campground & Cottages Hotel Charleston
James Island County Park Campground And Cottages

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James Island County Park Campground & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.