We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“James Island Campground” 5 of 5 stars
Review of James Island County Park Campground & Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
James Island County Park Campground & Cottages
Save
You added James Island County Park Campground & Cottages to your Saves list
871 Riverland Drive, Charleston, SC 29412 (James Island)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“James Island Campground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This was by the far the best campground we have ever camped. We have a travel trailer and the sites are spacious and shaded. The campground is very clean with plenty for a family to do. We loved riding our bikes on the many bike trails, fished at the crabbing dock, played on the playground and splash pad. All this is included in your stay. We also loved the water park. The prices are very reasonable and if purchased at camp store , you will receive a discounted price.
We usually spend a day at Folly Beach or Isle of Palms. This will be our 4th summer trip here and we plan on spending more summers here.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank SouthForTheWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
charleston, SC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We have stayed here a few times now with a 30' airstream trailer. The sites are spacious, bathrooms are very clean and the location is just perfect. There is so much to do at the park and the staff is very friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anton v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I noticed the first review stated that the park wasn't tent friendly. I think he just missed the huge field where they allow tent camping. there must be 30 sites that back up to a woodland area for a little privacy and shade and there is a small hill or rise at one end so the campsites behind the rise have a little more privacy. It is a bit of a walk to the campground bathrooms but totally maneagble. I have seen the field completely overrun with Boy Scouts but it was entertaining and not annoying. And most of my time is spent at the beach anyway or in Charleston. The tent is just a place to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
197 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Like most campgrounds (other than some state parks), this is really a campground for RVs and pop-ups. But you can still work it with a tent, as we did. You just have to deal with the fact that your "pad" is gravel.

Other than that, the place is quite nice. There's a nice pond where you could hear lots of frogs at night (when we visited) and lots of attractions plus the whole park and water park and such surrounding. And unlike most campgrounds, there is actually a place where non-RV campers can wash their dishes, but you have to look for it in the rec room. It's no Hunting Island or other coastal state park, but it is quite nice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

James Island Park offers a wide variety of activities for the whole family. We stayed March 31 – April 7th in site 120 – full hook up, camping in a motor coach. The campground was well laid out and offered a little green space between each site, along with a fire ring. There are many biking and walking trails throughout the park and the dog park was extremely nice. April 1st, the park hosted the Low country Cajun Festival and we enjoyed the food, drink & music just a quick walk away from our coach. For the price, this was not our favorite campground as it offered no cable. The wifi was unusable (and we have a wifi ranger, wifi booster that connected to their router at 100%) and each site was covered in road pack. We had a rally heavy rain, making this one of the messiest sites we have ever encountered. Make sure to have your bug spray handy. Especially if it rains as the road ways and sites hold water for days. We moved on April 7th to Oak Plantation on John’s Island and would recommend this campground over James Island Park. Particularly for big rigs.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyPorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Just came back from 4 days of camping at this beautiful campground. My granddaughters loved the climbing wall and playground. Nice hiking trails and great biking. Laundry and bathroom facilities were great. Will surely make a return trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ScottyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at James Island County Park. There is a lot to do including a wonderful jogging/bicycle trail, kayaking, and a climbing wall. The park staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. We camped in the primitive campground which consisted of a large grass field under the high power lines. There were flush toilets but no showers, a bit pricey ($30. per night). The no-see ums bothered us every night around sunset but no bugs at any other time. On our last morning someone decided to mow the grass in our campsite at 7am. We woke up to a large mower with in two feet of our tent. Next time we will rent one of the wonderful cabins offered.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gpflug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charleston
4.4 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
6.3 mi away
Tides Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
4.6 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
French Quarter Inn
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,271 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
3.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Island County Park Campground & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Island County Park Campground & Cottages

Address: 871 Riverland Drive, Charleston, SC 29412
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > James Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Charleston
Number of rooms: 124
Also Known As:
James Island County Park Campground And Cottages
James Island County Park Campground & Cottages Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing