We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“James Island Campground” 5 of 5 stars
Review of James Island County Park Campground & Cottages

James Island County Park Campground & Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
James Island County Park Campground & Cottages
Save Saved
You added James Island County Park Campground & Cottages to your Saves list
871 Riverland Drive, Charleston, SC 29412 (James Island)   |  
Hotel amenities
South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“James Island Campground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This was by the far the best campground we have ever camped. We have a travel trailer and the sites are spacious and shaded. The campground is very clean with plenty for a family to do. We loved riding our bikes on the many bike trails, fished at the crabbing dock, played on the playground and splash pad. All this is included in your stay. We also loved the water park. The prices are very reasonable and if purchased at camp store , you will receive a discounted price.
We usually spend a day at Folly Beach or Isle of Palms. This will be our 4th summer trip here and we plan on spending more summers here.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
29
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
charleston, SC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We have stayed here a few times now with a 30' airstream trailer. The sites are spacious, bathrooms are very clean and the location is just perfect. There is so much to do at the park and the staff is very friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I noticed the first review stated that the park wasn't tent friendly. I think he just missed the huge field where they allow tent camping. there must be 30 sites that back up to a woodland area for a little privacy and shade and there is a small hill or rise at one end so the campsites behind the rise have a little more privacy. It is a bit of a walk to the campground bathrooms but totally maneagble. I have seen the field completely overrun with Boy Scouts but it was entertaining and not annoying. And most of my time is spent at the beach anyway or in Charleston. The tent is just a place to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Like most campgrounds (other than some state parks), this is really a campground for RVs and pop-ups. But you can still work it with a tent, as we did. You just have to deal with the fact that your "pad" is gravel.

Other than that, the place is quite nice. There's a nice pond where you could hear lots of frogs at night (when we visited) and lots of attractions plus the whole park and water park and such surrounding. And unlike most campgrounds, there is actually a place where non-RV campers can wash their dishes, but you have to look for it in the rec room. It's no Hunting Island or other coastal state park, but it is quite nice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar Beach, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

James Island Park offers a wide variety of activities for the whole family. We stayed March 31 – April 7th in site 120 – full hook up, camping in a motor coach. The campground was well laid out and offered a little green space between each site, along with a fire ring. There are many biking and walking trails throughout the park and the dog park was extremely nice. April 1st, the park hosted the Low country Cajun Festival and we enjoyed the food, drink & music just a quick walk away from our coach. For the price, this was not our favorite campground as it offered no cable. The wifi was unusable (and we have a wifi ranger, wifi booster that connected to their router at 100%) and each site was covered in road pack. We had a rally heavy rain, making this one of the messiest sites we have ever encountered. Make sure to have your bug spray handy. Especially if it rains as the road ways and sites hold water for days. We moved on April 7th to Oak Plantation on John’s Island and would recommend this campground over James Island Park. Particularly for big rigs.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Just came back from 4 days of camping at this beautiful campground. My granddaughters loved the climbing wall and playground. Nice hiking trails and great biking. Laundry and bathroom facilities were great. Will surely make a return trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at James Island County Park. There is a lot to do including a wonderful jogging/bicycle trail, kayaking, and a climbing wall. The park staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. We camped in the primitive campground which consisted of a large grass field under the high power lines. There were flush toilets but no showers, a bit pricey ($30. per night). The no-see ums bothered us every night around sunset but no bugs at any other time. On our last morning someone decided to mow the grass in our campsite at 7am. We woke up to a large mower with in two feet of our tent. Next time we will rent one of the wonderful cabins offered.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to James Island County Park Campground & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Island County Park Campground & Cottages

Address: 871 Riverland Drive, Charleston, SC 29412
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > James Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Charleston
Number of rooms: 124
Also Known As:
James Island County Park Campground & Cottages Hotel Charleston
James Island County Park Campground And Cottages

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James Island County Park Campground & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.