We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you would expect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halls Chophouse

Halls Chophouse
434 King St, Charleston, SC 29403
8437270090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Halls Chophouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 709 Restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: John St.
Description: Halls Chophouse is American-Fine Dining, serving prime steaks, Lowcountry and fresh seafood specialties in an energetic, visually striking environment. Complemented by signature desserts, an extensive wine list, a vibrant bar and innovative, rich decor true to old-world steakhouses, Halls Chophouse is the latest restaurant offering in the heart of Charleston's Upper King Street design and dining district. A traditional American steakhouse with superior service and a knowledgeable staff, Halls Chophouse offers a classic and comfortable dining experience that will entice our guests to visit and enjoy time after time. We offer 2 private dining rooms for groups of up to 32 guests each with audio visual capabilities.
Greenville, South Carolina, USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“What you would expect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a #1 rated restaurant, and as such your expectations are high. They deliver. Owners greet you at the door. Great wait staff. Standards such as shrimp and grits are outstanding. A great bloody mary. All at reasonable prices. 2 extraordinary experiences back-to-back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,689
    166
    48
    32
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gospel Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We went on Sunday morning for the gospel brunch and it was outstanding! The restuarant is lovely, and the owners very attentive. The service is 5 star! The food was delicious ~ popovers to start, then crabcake benedict, and a huge seafood omelet with crab and shrimp. Highly recommended!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very pricey but really worth it; not to be missed if you really want a great steak.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We went to Halls to celebrate a family event and it was the best restaurant of my recent travels in Charleston. My husband and I shared a steak; we had lovely wine; the rest of our group ate full steaks, potatoes; desserts. A very memorable evening that was loved by all seven of us. Service was very personable and care was taken to explain each cut of beef. Loved it!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We arrived at 7:25 fot an 7:30 reservation and we were seated promptly to a table upstairs.
Our waiter Steven came over immediately and took a drink order and left the wine menu.
When he returned he told us the specials and gave us a few min. to decide.
I asked if I could double a special appy that they had that night for adinner protion and he assured me it would not be a problem. Everything that we ordered was excellent.
The service was exceptional. Steve was personable and knowledgable and it made the food even better.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious, leisurely dinner where live music adds to the ambience instead of drowning out table conversation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful service, wonderful food, beautiful decor. I had house special salad, bone-in filet mignon, and we shared three super sides between the six of us. Lovely evening!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halls Chophouse also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Halls Chophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halls Chophouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.