We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun demo "low country cooking" class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Cooks! Maverick Kitchen Store

Charleston Cooks! Maverick Kitchen Store
194 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)
+1 843-722-1212
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 96 Attractions in Charleston
Type: Educational Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in historical downtown Charleston, we provide the space, tools and instruction with which food and wine enthusiasts can happily gather, taste and learn. With both demonstration and participation classes, beginners and experts alike delve into an array of deliciousness, from savory sauces to wonderful wines. Our hope is that our exuberance is so contagious you'll take it home and share it.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fun demo "low country cooking" class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I noticed the classroom last year during a visit to the shop and made a mental note to take a demonstration class this year when we returned to Charleston with friends. The girls took this class while the guys went off on a Civil War tour. It was exactly what it claimed to be....a demonstration class of low country cooking, which was entertaining, informative and well presented. Afterwards we all shared a generous sampling of the three items that were made,,,,,pecan crusted chicken breast, pimento cheese grits, and chocolate bourbon pecan pie. Yum! A fun way to spend a couple of hours... The shop itself is also an interesting place to explore. Enjoy!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    156
    35
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lots of Gimicks, but not much Substance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I was disappointed by the wares available here. There were lots of new gadgets, but as an experienced cook I found most of them impractical. I was also sorry to learn that they only had one vegetarian cookbook.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Has everything you want and can teach you to cook too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great store and friendly staff. Cooking lessons offer hands on or watch and eat, nice place to visit for all your culinary needs.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tysons Corner, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Demo - new ideas, great instruction, delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Because my sister and I were in Charleston and looking for something different to do, I signed up for a demo class at Charleston Cooks! They also have classes with more involvement but since my sister cannot stand for long periods I chose the demo. What a fun class. The instructor was great in demonstrating and explaining everything in the three recipes she made that day, even learned how to make pimento - what a money saver, and it isn't even hard. We enjoyed sampling the 'low country' food that was made and sipping a little wine. What a treat. Of course we both bought at least one new gadget in the store. Great for a 'girls' trip or for couples that enjoy cooking together and the demo for anyone who likes to eat together!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fun and educational”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I attended our cooking class on August 31st as part of our anniversary celebration. Veronica was delightful and really schooled us in so many areas from Charleston evolving history related to food to best way to prep food. Quite entertaining and engaging. Kind of wished we had our wine to sip as we washed. The store itself is over-priced and we were told that we could only get Willie's Hog Dust there but did find it right on market street. Never spent so much for spice. The location is easy to find for first time Charleston visitors. A smoker was used during the class and it got a little much but all in all it was a very good class. Very nice bathroom facilities. Friendly staff - initially one person was a little snobby but after she was sown to be wrong about what was on display in the store, became nicer.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Cooks! Maverick Kitchen Store also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Cooks! Maverick Kitchen Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Cooks! Maverick Kitchen Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.