We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Observation cooking class and shopping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Cooks! Maverick Kitchen Store

Charleston Cooks! Maverick Kitchen Store
194 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)
+1 843-722-1212
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 96 Attractions in Charleston
Type: Educational Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in historical downtown Charleston, we provide the space, tools and instruction with which food and wine enthusiasts can happily gather, taste and learn. With both demonstration and participation classes, beginners and experts alike delve into an array of deliciousness, from savory sauces to wonderful wines. Our hope is that our exuberance is so contagious you'll take it home and share it.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Observation cooking class and shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We signed up for this observation cooking class before arriving in Charleston. The class was full - about 20 students. The instructor was not a trained professional chef (i.e. via culinary school) but had done a lot of on-the-job training, etc. in various places. She first made the Coca cola cakes so they could be baking while preparing/demo-ing the other two dishes. She had also pre-cooked the chicken thighs that would be the base of the BBQ pulled chicken, to save time. She made the BBQ sauce from scratch. The 3rd course was a warm potato and green bean potato salad. We received a copy of the recipes as well for use at home. Participants in the class also received 10% off any purchases from the kitchen store that day, too. All in all, a good experience!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    156
    35
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cooking classes and more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Charleston Cooks offers cooking classes in a beautiful setting attached to the retail area. If you need any kitchen items, this is the place to go. Worth a stop as you cruise around east bay

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife and I went here and shopped in the store and also took a cooking class! The class is about 2 hours and you cook and eat the food durning class! Great experience for couples I think and we enjoyed it very much!!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Fun cooking class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We went to Charleston Cooks! to take a lowcountry cooking class and were very impressed. The class was fun and informative and the chef was then helpful to find cooking tools in the store. I can't wait to try the recipes at home.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Cook's Sweet Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

A GREAT store with all the great tools for cooking and local items too. It has a small space but friendly non-pretentious salespeople. Foodie paradise.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Cooks! Maverick Kitchen Store also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Cooks! Maverick Kitchen Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Cooks! Maverick Kitchen Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.