We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great kitchen store” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Cooks! Maverick Kitchen Store

Charleston Cooks! Maverick Kitchen Store
194 East Bay Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Downtown)
+1 843-722-1212
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 96 Attractions in Charleston
Type: Educational Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in historical downtown Charleston, we provide the space, tools and instruction with which food and wine enthusiasts can happily gather, taste and learn. With both demonstration and participation classes, beginners and experts alike delve into an array of deliciousness, from savory sauces to wonderful wines. Our hope is that our exuberance is so contagious you'll take it home and share it.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great kitchen store”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Wonderful selection of kitchen gadgets. Also--never found before--pork rind nuggets you can put in the microwave to puff up. Great gift to bring home.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    156
    35
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Danville, KY
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Cooking Class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Bought several items which I had not found anywhere else. The cooking class was very enjoyable with excellent chef instructor Michelle Hammon.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cool cooking gadgets and basics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great store to pick up those hard to find 'gadgets' for the kitchen! They have an area where they were prepping to do a class and I wish we had scheduled time to do that in Charleston. Looked like tons of fun. In the middle of the action near the waterpark on E Bay St.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trabuco Canyon, California
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
134 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Demo cooking & lunch for only $25!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

What a great value! The store is easy to find, the chef was delightful and we had a light lunch after she prepared it. Loved the explanation of Low Country Cuisine and the food examples that followed. We had a fried tilapia with pickles on top, a rice/pea dish and a lemon tart with a glass of wine. Retain store people could be a bit more accommodating when we asked if there was somewhere to sit before class. They sent us a long way away to a park instead of letting us sit in the back of the room. Not very southern hospitable.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, MA
Top Contributor
396 reviews 396 reviews
114 attraction reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
“Didn't Cook, Just Shopped”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My hobby is cooking and I love to wander through stores selling cooking supplies. I have been in suhc places all over the US and in Europe and the Maverick Kitchen Store is one of the best. The prices are reasonable for the quality and the staff was pleasant and helpful. We of course left with a shopping bag full of gadgets I don't need and some high end edibles. I wis I had time for one of their cooking classes.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Cooks! Maverick Kitchen Store also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Cooks! Maverick Kitchen Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Cooks! Maverick Kitchen Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.