We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay Mexican Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Juanita Greenberg's Nacho Royale

Juanita Greenberg's Nacho Royale
439 King St, Charleston, SC 29403-6232
843-723-6224
Improve this listing
Ranked #285 of 736 restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Okay Mexican Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Believe it or not, the Charleston area has a couple of pretty decent Mexican restaurants. This isn't one of them. That said, this is gringo-fied Mexican food that is a bit better than your standard "lunch combo #5" generic menu. The best part of it is that they give you pretty much complete control over what you're going to get. If you want a more authentic Mexican food experience, you won't find it downtown. Go to Santi's or La Nortena. Even Taco Boy on Huger St. does gringo Mex better than Juanita. That said, I eat at Juanita's a couple of times a year. I'm not trying to trash the place. When I eat there it is because I'm hungry and it's convenient. When I want to make the effort to have good Mexican food, I go elsewhere.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    20
    36
    24
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“LOVED IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great back patio! The nacho royale is awesome! Huge portions! Very reasonable prices. Delish margaritas!!! We fell in love with the name... not many Jewish Mexican places!!! Casual laid back feel near the college.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Get the Nacho's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Thefood here is great. It is better than usual mexican food. The burrito is huge and the nacho is on a big pizza tray. There is the old location in downtown Charleston on King Street that is still open and has outdoor seating in back. The Mt. Pleasant location is new but also a great place and the food is just as good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“All the food is good and fresh, the chips stink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I get the nachos royale which is excellent and nobody in town makes them the same. The guacamole is the best in town as well- with onions and tomatoes in it (my fav). My only regret is that they serve Tostitos mini round chips with all of their food- which to me in quite unauthentic and gross- I throw them away. But all the items are fresh and cooked to order.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A college nacho bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The best part here was the service, our server was so friendly, he made the experience. The nachos are unusual, served on a baked flour tortilla and sliced like a pizza. They're not gourmet, the place isn't fancy or clean, but it's exactly what you'd expect it to be. You won't be disappointed if you're looking for nachos and beer.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Juanita Greenberg's Nacho Royale also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Juanita Greenberg's Nacho Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Juanita Greenberg's Nacho Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.