We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but entertaining” 3 of 5 stars
Review of South Carolina Aquarium

South Carolina Aquarium
1216 King St., Charleston, SC 29401
843-720-1990
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$25*
and up
South Carolina Aquarium Admission
Ranked #28 of 96 Attractions in Charleston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fun, wonder and education come together at the South Carolina Aquarium. An intimate family-fun adventure, see a rare albino American alligator; get hands-on at the Touch Tank, marvel at the sharks in the Great Ocean Tank, come face-to-face with rays in the Stingray Encounter, or take a behind-the-scenes tour of the Sea Turtle Hospital. Don’t miss our interactive dive shows and animal programs offered daily!
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Small but entertaining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My wife and I saw that a Guy Harvey exhibit was at the aquarium and we decided to do a quick trip (her first) to Charleston with primary goal of going to see the exhibit and aquarium. It was a bit lackluster. Small aquarium but well laid out. The 4D movie was entertaining too. I can see those with small kids may get more out of it, but us adult animal and marine enthusiast will find it just ok.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. It does not take a lot of time to see so it is worth a quick view and then move on to other attractions.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    255
    141
    44
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My kids LOVED the aquarium! From feeding sting rays, watching the shows, and playing in the Madagascar area, it was great! This was the perfect way to spend a few hours out of the heat!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Small Aquarium but Big Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The SC Aquarium is a great place that does a lot of nice work for the local ecosystems and wildlife. If you're looking for a fun educational experience then you should definitely give this aquarium a try. Kid friendly sections let children get up close to the exhibits and the huge viewing tank is so much fun to sit and watch. You could spend as little as a few hours or a whole day here.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very kid friendly!! Hands on & educational.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A great value and so close to downtown. 4D movie was great and small add on fee worth the price. Our kids 12,14 & 6 love the aquarium and the gift shop.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Aquarium I have been too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This a Aquarium simple made my past trip to Charleston, SC (staying in a beach house in a SC beach strip called Isle of Palms). They had amazing exhibits and very clean facilities. They even had a bald eagle their that had a broken wing, they were keeping it there to keep it safe! They had many types of birds their too, such as Cranes, doves etc. They had a touch pool where you could touch starfish, stingrays, all sorts of things. There were plenty of things to do there, they had a food court too, a gift shop and an outside deck where you could watch the strip of sea (we saw dolphins jumping around the water too!). I would totally recommend this place to anyone as it is a very fun (and educational) place.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Carolina Aquarium also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to South Carolina Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Carolina Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.