We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very kid friendly!! Hands on & educational.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Carolina Aquarium

South Carolina Aquarium
100 Aquarium Wharf, Charleston, SC 29401
843-720-1990
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$25*
and up
South Carolina Aquarium Admission
Ranked #30 of 96 Attractions in Charleston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fun, wonder and education come together at the South Carolina Aquarium. An intimate family-fun adventure, see a rare albino American alligator; get hands-on at the Touch Tank, marvel at the sharks in the Great Ocean Tank, come face-to-face with rays in the Stingray Encounter, or take a behind-the-scenes tour of the Sea Turtle Hospital. Don’t miss our interactive dive shows and animal programs offered daily!
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Columbus, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very kid friendly!! Hands on & educational.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A great value and so close to downtown. 4D movie was great and small add on fee worth the price. Our kids 12,14 & 6 love the aquarium and the gift shop.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    250
    140
    44
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Aquarium I have been too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This a Aquarium simple made my past trip to Charleston, SC (staying in a beach house in a SC beach strip called Isle of Palms). They had amazing exhibits and very clean facilities. They even had a bald eagle their that had a broken wing, they were keeping it there to keep it safe! They had many types of birds their too, such as Cranes, doves etc. They had a touch pool where you could touch starfish, stingrays, all sorts of things. There were plenty of things to do there, they had a food court too, a gift shop and an outside deck where you could watch the strip of sea (we saw dolphins jumping around the water too!). I would totally recommend this place to anyone as it is a very fun (and educational) place.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Return visitor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have visited the Aquarium on a number of visits and it doesn't get old. From the live demonstrations ( we got up close to an adorable opossum), to the grand aquarium that spans multiple floors, there is always something to catch your eye. Worth the visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Went with my wife, parents, two kids (7) & (12). We had a great time seeing all the marine life. Originally we weren't expecting too much but we were pleasantly surprised by all the different types of fish available to view. We're from NY and from my mom tells me this place puts the NY aquarium to shame. The facility is nice and clean and the staff is very friendly. There's a section where you can all pet stingrays and snakes as well. The kids will love this place. A hidden gem in Charleston that's worth the visit.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“Fun and interactive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We visited here while staying in Charleston for a cruise. There were many exhibits and hands on activities for kids. We also went to the sea monster movie that had some fun features. It was a little pricey, but a fun way to spend some time. I was surprised at the diversity of animals and sea life here and how close you can get to the animals and sea life. I don’t think you will be disappointed.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Carolina Aquarium also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to South Carolina Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Carolina Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.