We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian in Charleston, hands down.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Lucca

Trattoria Lucca
41 Bogard St, Ste A, Charleston, SC 29403-5760
843-973-3323
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 709 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Italian in Charleston, hands down.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Fresh made pasta daily, innovative use of Tuscan methods with local ingredients, and vibrant flavors throughout. Also worth mentioning is the unique Italian regional wine list offered. It can get noisy on the weekends, so I suggest eating there during the week. Reservations highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    32
    17
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mt Pleasant, sc
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sorry guys, will be my last visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just my personal opinion here

Probably my 6st visit. High marks on Gnudi , but no food , no matter how good can be over come for bad customer service, not when you drop $ 150 bucks for 2, without tip, which none was left.

Couple this with an experience of eating inside of a Jet engine , just makes for a not so enjoyable evening. I kick myself for going back here all these times , saying they will put up some sound absorbing tile or something.

So things must be bad for me to write a poor review if you look at my history

Service awlful, literally harassed by waiter to order food must have asked us 5 times in leading way .

I will be back to get your order. Ok i am ready for the order now he would say

All this while we made it clear we wanted to talk and enjoy appetizer first , which we had not received for an unusually long time. He kept coming, coming, coming. VERY VERY ignoring

I am certainly not accustomed to have a bill dropped in front of me and not even a thank you for coming and dining with us.

Seriously dude, I can see why you lost job selling wine, in wasn't due to down economy though. Think you should rethink that story. In a down economy people drink more don't they ?

Finally , as said , I like the food

But unless you bring your Bose headset or are Malchus , your ears will ring for days, you will lose your voice from screaming to guest you are with. On positive note , you could here some nice talk and juicy gossip from your neighbors sitting right next to you as they are yelling too, over deafening noise.

Too many great places in CHS to deal with this

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good service and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Good homemade pasta. Not very pricey, Good service and pleasant atomoshere. Poor parking however, get there early to get a space!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Enjoyed a fantastic dinner using their unadvertised 4-course tasting menu. Great homemade pasta (try the Gnudi), creative and beautifully-presented dishes. Relaxed atmosphere with attentive and friendly wait staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent...AGAIN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Had dinner at Lucca for the 5th time in the past 6 months and it was awesome! This is a gem in a city of great dinning options. We like to dine late so we never book a table before 8:45. It can be very loud if they have a full house. (which is almost every friday and Saturday). If you love and appreciate true Italian food, do not miss out on Lucce

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Lucca also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Trattoria Lucca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Lucca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.