We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For architecture lovers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist

Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist
120 Broad Street, Charleston, SC 29401
(843) 7248395
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 96 Attractions in Charleston
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“For architecture lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Based on other travelers' reviews, I knew this was a place I wanted to go on my self-guided photography tour of historic Charleston. The outside architecture drew my interest, but I was disappointed to enter the foyer only to see that a wedding party was taking photos in the sanctuary. The glimpse I caught of the interior lived up to my expectations, but unfortunately, I did not have a chance to return to see it in more detail.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    61
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“beautiful stained glass”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We saw this church on our carriage ride and made a point to walk back to it to see all of the gorgeous lead lights (stained glass). The organ was playing as we admired all of the beauty inside of the cathedral. Beautiful place.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge,Louisiana
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Directly across from Governor House Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Though we did not have time to visit the interior of this church it was certainly a beautiful view from our inn and certainly one of the many beautiful churches and steeples in the Holy City of Charleston! Charleston has so many beautiful churches that we could not visit all but will visit this one on next visit. The Cathedral of St John the Baptist in Savannah we did visit and it was beautiful inside and out as we know this one is by the interior photos we have seen. Great city for church architecture and worship!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Nothing to dislike. Beautiful stain glass and the alter is gorgeous. Try to attend mass. A great historical and spiritual experience .

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful mass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Reverent celebration of the Mass. Welcoming community. Worth the visit. Come a little early to find a parking space

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral of Saint John the Baptist, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.