We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Governor House was a terrific choice for our stay in Charleston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Governor's House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Governor's House Inn to your Saves list
Governor's House Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   117 Broad Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 43 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Baton Rouge,Louisiana
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Governor House was a terrific choice for our stay in Charleston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My wife and I recently returned to Charleston after six years and had chosen Governor House as a great central location on Broad Street. What a great place to stay. This is such a well maintained historic house that I would chose it again for our next visit. This house is most famous as the the house of Edward Rutledge the youngest signer of the Declaration of Independence and brother of John Rutledge of the Constitution Convention and signer of the final document which he helped write and first governor of South Carolina. The house is so beautiful and quite a treat to see and learn more of its history and that of Charleston and America. The breakfasts were outstanding as were the afternoon wine and snack times. The staff was very courteous, accommodating and helpful with directions and restaurant reservations. We chose the Orange Grove Room in the lower level both for it spaciousness, location with private entrance and access to parking for bringing in luggage. The room was beautifully furnished, comfortable and the bath was large and great for bath and shower. We would without question recommend the Governor House for your stay and for our next visit!!! Enjoy!!! Say hello to New the cat as he greats all guests!!!

Room Tip: If you bring in purchases as we do then the Orange Grove or Barbados Room(Terrace Level) or Kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    37
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
208
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I can't say enough about this beautifully, charming Inn. Every member of the staff went out of their way to not only answer questions like "do you have the number for a pedi-cab?" but actually calling them for you, "where can I get some ice for the room?" and actually getting it for you! I called to let them know of a flower delivery for the room, Christa asked if it was a special occasion and offered champagne. When I stated we prefer wine she inquired as to the kind we like and upon our arrival we found the flowers, wine, glasses, corkscrew and bottle stopper arranged on a beautiful silver tray! The room was neat, spotless. Even though we were right below the kitchen there was very little noise from the staff above preparing breakfast.
And I would be remiss if I did not mention their best ambassador Nu the cat who greeted us upon our arrival to the parking area; he is quite the snuggle bug!
We will definitely be returning to Charleston.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

A beautiful and characterful residence, full of history, antiques and paintings. Lovely bedroom, with comfy bed. Good location, ten minutes walk from town. Tasty breakfasts served around a large table - a great way to meet other guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

What a great place! My husband and I truly enjoyed ourselves and would stay here again.
The staff was GREAT! Crystal greeted us every morning during our stay. She told us about the history of the house and Charleston. Truly a great place to stay. Breakfast was great as well. Our last day we had creme brûlée French toast. What a send off! The room was nicely furnished and the bathroom huge!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My husband and I had a relaxing stay at the Governor's House Inn. We had a room on the top floor and found it to be very clean and cozy. If you stay in this room, you must be able to climb stairs to the third floor. The staff was very helpful on what to do and where to eat. They even made reservations for us for dinner. The afternoon tea hour was delightful. Location is wonderful. We walked to most of the things we wanted to do. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The Governor's House is a beautiful old Inn. Everything was very high quality here, from the bed linens to the staff. I stayed in a basement room which exited to the back courtyard. The room was beautiful and big and decorated nicely - updated. The bath had a soaker tub as well. The day we left I noticed bikes that they let you borrow. The located is very close to the battery & bay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easton md
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My husband and I recently had a wonderful stay in a real treasure of a place. The Governor's House Inn, in downtown Charleston, provided us with a luxurious stay in an elegant home atmosphere. This beautifully maintained historic property was the perfect backdrop for visiting Old Town Charleston, located within walking distance of the best restaurants and sights in the city. The Inn provided excellent service, very comfortable accommodations, and even provided a beautiful afternoon tea hour. When you visit Charleston or if you just want a weekend get-away, you will find this a very special place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Governor's House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's House Inn

Address: 117 Broad Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Governor's House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Governor's House Inn offers the rare pleasures, aristocratic comforts and romantic grandeur of a pre-revolutionary National Landmark. With magnificent drawing rooms, boudoir staterooms, and expansive veranda porches, it is no wonder that the former Governor's mansion was proclaimed the most glamorous of Charleston inns by Travel Holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Governor's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s House Hotel Charleston
Governors Inn Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governor's House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.