We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olde world charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Governor's House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Governor's House Inn to your Saves list
The Governor's House Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   117 Broad Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 44 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Olde world charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

A beautiful and characterful residence, full of history, antiques and paintings. Lovely bedroom, with comfy bed. Good location, ten minutes walk from town. Tasty breakfasts served around a large table - a great way to meet other guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    38
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
222
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

What a great place! My husband and I truly enjoyed ourselves and would stay here again.
The staff was GREAT! Crystal greeted us every morning during our stay. She told us about the history of the house and Charleston. Truly a great place to stay. Breakfast was great as well. Our last day we had creme brûlée French toast. What a send off! The room was nicely furnished and the bathroom huge!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My husband and I had a relaxing stay at the Governor's House Inn. We had a room on the top floor and found it to be very clean and cozy. If you stay in this room, you must be able to climb stairs to the third floor. The staff was very helpful on what to do and where to eat. They even made reservations for us for dinner. The afternoon tea hour was delightful. Location is wonderful. We walked to most of the things we wanted to do. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The Governor's House is a beautiful old Inn. Everything was very high quality here, from the bed linens to the staff. I stayed in a basement room which exited to the back courtyard. The room was beautiful and big and decorated nicely - updated. The bath had a soaker tub as well. The day we left I noticed bikes that they let you borrow. The located is very close to the battery & bay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easton md
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My husband and I recently had a wonderful stay in a real treasure of a place. The Governor's House Inn, in downtown Charleston, provided us with a luxurious stay in an elegant home atmosphere. This beautifully maintained historic property was the perfect backdrop for visiting Old Town Charleston, located within walking distance of the best restaurants and sights in the city. The Inn provided excellent service, very comfortable accommodations, and even provided a beautiful afternoon tea hour. When you visit Charleston or if you just want a weekend get-away, you will find this a very special place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The location is amazing...the house is beautiful (the main floor anyways), and the staff were friendly, but that is about all I can say. The room was outdated, and by outdated, I mean 1980's decor, not historically preserved or renovated to look historic, and it smelled like a no-tell motel. The staff were all college kids, which is okay, but it seemed like more of a hotel stay than a bed and breakfast. It was definitely lacking the personal touches that you expect with a B&B. The breakfast was okay, I but not great. I can say, sitting out on the porch was wonderful. Again, the location was fantastic, so if you are looking to be close to everything, this is your place, but if you want to spend any time at all in your room, do yourself a favor and pick somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGHI, Manager at The Governor's House Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
So sorry you had these issues. We do have a few young adults on staff but many are age 40 and over, all of whom are well trained, very polite and mature. All of our rooms have been renovated and maintained. I apologize the décor was not to your liking. Should any potential guest want to see their room prior to arrival please view it on our website as the pictures are current and accurate, each room is different and unique and considered very tasteful. Our breakfast we work very hard at and try to get as much feed back as possible. We only serve items that most folks enjoy. I certainly wish you would have let us know of your dissatisfaction so as we may have corrected it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

All the staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Within walking distance to all of the historic district. Afternoon tea was served along with wine, cheese/crackers, a bundt cake and homemade candy. Breakfast was served to you at the dining room table or we choose the outdoor side porch. Several times the waitress/cook would ask if you wanted refills of anything. Each morning the entree was different along with juice and fruit.
Our room was on the main level, queen bed, very clean and roomy, bath with shower. WIFI connection worked well in our room. Even thou we were on the main level it was very quiet.
I would not hesitate to recommend this Inn to friends planning on visiting Charleston

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,097 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,020 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#10 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue
The Vendue
#13 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,450 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,192 reviews
The Restoration on King
#2 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Governor's House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Governor's House Inn

Address: 117 Broad Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Governor's House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Governor's House Inn offers the rare pleasures, aristocratic comforts and romantic grandeur of a pre-revolutionary National Landmark. With magnificent drawing rooms, boudoir staterooms, and expansive veranda porches, it is no wonder that the former Governor's mansion was proclaimed the most glamorous of Charleston inns by Travel Holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Governor's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s House Hotel Charleston
Governors Inn Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Governor's House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.