We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mini vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Governor's House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Governor's House Inn to your Saves list
Governor's House Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   117 Broad Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Charlestowne)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 43 Charleston B&B and Inns
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great mini vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

What a great place! My husband and I truly enjoyed ourselves and would stay here again.
The staff was GREAT! Crystal greeted us every morning during our stay. She told us about the history of the house and Charleston. Truly a great place to stay. Breakfast was great as well. Our last day we had creme brûlée French toast. What a send off! The room was nicely furnished and the bathroom huge!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    36
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
189
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My husband and I had a relaxing stay at the Governor's House Inn. We had a room on the top floor and found it to be very clean and cozy. If you stay in this room, you must be able to climb stairs to the third floor. The staff was very helpful on what to do and where to eat. They even made reservations for us for dinner. The afternoon tea hour was delightful. Location is wonderful. We walked to most of the things we wanted to do. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The Governor's House is a beautiful old Inn. Everything was very high quality here, from the bed linens to the staff. I stayed in a basement room which exited to the back courtyard. The room was beautiful and big and decorated nicely - updated. The bath had a soaker tub as well. The day we left I noticed bikes that they let you borrow. The located is very close to the battery & bay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easton md
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My husband and I recently had a wonderful stay in a real treasure of a place. The Governor's House Inn, in downtown Charleston, provided us with a luxurious stay in an elegant home atmosphere. This beautifully maintained historic property was the perfect backdrop for visiting Old Town Charleston, located within walking distance of the best restaurants and sights in the city. The Inn provided excellent service, very comfortable accommodations, and even provided a beautiful afternoon tea hour. When you visit Charleston or if you just want a weekend get-away, you will find this a very special place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The location is amazing...the house is beautiful (the main floor anyways), and the staff were friendly, but that is about all I can say. The room was outdated, and by outdated, I mean 1980's decor, not historically preserved or renovated to look historic, and it smelled like a no-tell motel. The staff were all college kids, which is okay, but it seemed like more of a hotel stay than a bed and breakfast. It was definitely lacking the personal touches that you expect with a B&B. The breakfast was okay, I but not great. I can say, sitting out on the porch was wonderful. Again, the location was fantastic, so if you are looking to be close to everything, this is your place, but if you want to spend any time at all in your room, do yourself a favor and pick somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGHI, Manager at Governor's House Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
So sorry you had these issues. We do have a few young adults on staff but many are age 40 and over, all of whom are well trained, very polite and mature. All of our rooms have been renovated and maintained. I apologize the décor was not to your liking. Should any potential guest want to see their room prior to arrival please view it on our website as the pictures are current and accurate, each room is different and unique and considered very tasteful. Our breakfast we work very hard at and try to get as much feed back as possible. We only serve items that most folks enjoy. I certainly wish you would have let us know of your dissatisfaction so as we may have corrected it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

All the staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Within walking distance to all of the historic district. Afternoon tea was served along with wine, cheese/crackers, a bundt cake and homemade candy. Breakfast was served to you at the dining room table or we choose the outdoor side porch. Several times the waitress/cook would ask if you wanted refills of anything. Each morning the entree was different along with juice and fruit.
Our room was on the main level, queen bed, very clean and roomy, bath with shower. WIFI connection worked well in our room. Even thou we were on the main level it was very quiet.
I would not hesitate to recommend this Inn to friends planning on visiting Charleston

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del rey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

When we booked this B&B knowing it was a Select Registry pick and the cost we thought we would be staying at an outstanding B&B. The pros are that it is in a great location and the home is beautifully decorated and has much history attached. However, the cons are that one half of a B&B is the breakfast and that had a lot to be desired. There wasn't much effort or originality put into it. Same fruit cup all three days. Scrambled eggs with two sausages (you could get that at any coffee shop). A blueberry strata and a ham and cheese casserole. Definitely portion control! Two young students met us upon our arrival in the afternoon. They were also in charge of the afternoon tea. OK that's fine but never did meet the owner all three days of our stay. Felt more of a hotel and not staying at someone's home. We were told upon checkout it had recently changed hands and encouraged us to write a review. This place needs some tender loving care (a fresh coat of paint would help). And New, the cat, we miss you !

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGHI, Manager at Governor's House Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
So sorry for you issues. I did contact this guest upon viewing this review and spoke with them about their breakfast portions. Along with the eggs and sausage there were hash browns a home baked muffin as well as fruit on the plate. We do fill the plates for our guests so they will not leave the table hungry. I apologize if you did not feel there was enough food to satisfy you. I do ask staff serving breakfast to always check with the guest to see if they're happy with their dish and if not we can always prepare something else. I hope they did so for you. The owners are here often but do have another home and immediate family out of state so they are not on property at all times. They are however in constant communication with management and care greatly for their inn. All staff however, (even the young adults) are kind and polite, help with any dinner arrangements, transportation, directions, amenities for your room and the list goes on. Young adults yes, but much of the staff are age 40+. Thank you for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Governor's House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's House Inn

Address: 117 Broad Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Governor's House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Governor's House Inn offers the rare pleasures, aristocratic comforts and romantic grandeur of a pre-revolutionary National Landmark. With magnificent drawing rooms, boudoir staterooms, and expansive veranda porches, it is no wonder that the former Governor's mansion was proclaimed the most glamorous of Charleston inns by Travel Holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Governor's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s House Hotel Charleston
Governors Inn Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governor's House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.