We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful old home with historical details” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Governor's House Inn

Save Saved
You added Governor's House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Governor's House Inn
117 Broad Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Charlestowne)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 43 Charleston B&B and Inns
Anderson, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful old home with historical details”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed March 3rd & 4th in a terrace level room which has a seperate entrance and terrace. Really liked staying in this area of the inn. Room had a large luxurious bathroom and comfortable bed and pillows. The housekeeper works hard keeping it very clean. The staff was friendly, and we enjoyed socializing a bit with the other guests at the afternoon wine and tea. The location is ideal and the free parking area saves money, time and aggravation.
Re: Food-After reading some reviews about the food-we didn't expect a lot, so no disapointment for us. They have cereal and toast and fruit at breakfast (good coffee), if you don't want the entree. We thought the snacks at afternoon tea were good, and we did appreciate this amenity-wine and peach tea were delicious. One of the staff gave us good advice on a seafood restaurant-Hymans located almost in front of the market. Great food-reasonably priced-eat early if you don't want a long wait. Best seafood I've had in a long time. Incredibly good fried oysters.
We really enjoyed the comfort,cleanliness, hospitatily and the ambiance. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    34
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
177
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

They really need to work on their breakfast for a Bed & Breakfast. The small breakfast was served cold both mornings. The pancakes were room temp, the sausage was cold & the egg dish was cold. There were no pastrys or fresh cakes served with tea as advertised on the website & brochures. They served fritos & salsa, cheap cheese spread & crackers. We have stayed at numerous B&B's & we can honestly say, we will not return to this one. The friendly cat had the run of the house, including the kitchen. Beware if you have allergies. The upside is a good location & free parking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGHI, General Manager at Governor's House Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
As General Manager of the Governor’s House Inn, I would like to express the entire staff’s apology to Susan for her breakfast service. We wish she had let us know right away that her breakfast was not to her liking, and we would have been happy to take care of that for her. We are also sorry she was disappointed with the menu changes made concerning our afternoon tea. She is correct. We should update our photos on our website.
We have found that most of our guests have become more concerned about nutrition than they were a few years ago. We have adjusted our menu accordingly and serve more savory items and less sweet. For example our guests love our mushrooms stuffed with spinach, open face cucumber sandwiches, deviled eggs, and stuffed red and yellow peppers. Our homemade cheese spreads are not cheap and are some of our most sought after recipes. We use the best name brand ingredients, and they are all homemade at the Inn. We always include something sweet and usually something chocolate. You will know why our ultimate brownie recipe is named that as soon as you taste them. During the tea hour we offer peach iced tea, an assortment of very nice hot teas, coffee, and a nice red and white wine.
Yes, we do have a cat that many of our guests enjoy. We realize that some people don’t like cats or have an allergy to them. We do our best to keep him as far away as possible from those guests. He does not have the run of the kitchen. He is allowed only just inside the door where his food and water bowl are. He prefers his meals on the back porch. We never invited “New” into the house or any of the guest rooms. Our guests did.
We would like to invite Susan to visit Governor’s House Inn again. We would love the opportunity to show her how wonderful the Inn can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

What a wonderful place! We stayed in the Barbados Suite and loved every minute of our stay. The house is a museum by itself that has been beautifully decorated and maintained. Try the afternoon low country tea on the porch. The breakfasts were delicious. The location of the mansion is great for downtown exploration. The off street parking was an added bonus. We definitely will plan on a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here for four days last week. The Inn was incredible. The furnishing are beautiful and you could just imagine what it was like in the 19th century. Good breakfasts, peach tea all day long and snacks and wine in eve. We stayed in the Middleton room which was a splurge but totally worth it with a working gas fireplace and jacuzzi and access to the veranda. The Inn was a easy walk to all the shops and restaurants and had parking in the back. We used the bikes they offered and that was fun to get the lay of the land. Be warned though that Charleston really isn't a bike friendly city. Loved everything!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Perfect location for walking around Charleston. Beautiful room and fabulous breakfast. Simple choices, but different everyday and perfectly cooked. Not for the travelers who expect a huge breakfast with an "all you can eat vibe." Felt like we were dining in Dalton Abbey! Staff was personable. Ample parking. A splurge, but worth it. We booked last minute and knew we'd pay top dollar, but the grandeur of the house was special.
EJ72

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I stay in a lot of Bed & Breakfast Inns, and the Governor's House Inn far exceeds anything we have ever visited. We stayed in the Orange Grove Room that offered a private veranda and entrance. Everyone at the Inn provided Southern Hospitality at its very best, and will exceed your every want. The house was built in 1760, and was eventually bought by Edward Rutledge, who at the age of 27 was the youngest signer on the U.S. Declaration of Independence. The house is immaculately restored to its original condition, and furnished with period antiques. This is a must see while in Charleston.

Room Tip: The Orange Grove Room has a private veranda and entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Inn has a fabulous location as you can park your car for free and easily walk to the water and restaurants. The grounds and the house were charming and well kept. Breakfast was a huge disappointment as it was small and very limited with choices. Our room had the bathroom added without changing the windows or door as they had glass on them. Very lacking in privacy as one window was right beside the toilet, and the shower ceiling had black moldy spots. Considering that we were paying $275 a night, our expectations were not met and we would not return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerGHI, General Manager at Governor's House Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
As General Manager of the Governor’s House Inn I would like to respond to the comments made by Nakia. I thank him for his positive comments on the Inn. I’m happy he appreciated the location and was pleased with the house and the grounds. However, I am surprised to learn of his disappointments. Our goal is to provide every guest with a pleasant experience. I am very sorry that Nakia did not leave with that notion. Had these concerns been brought to our attention, they would have been addressed. We are always happy to provide alternative solutions to every unpleasant surprise.
To clarify more specifically, the bathroom in the Orange Grove Room was not left unfinished. It is designed to be aesthetically pleasing. This room is highly desired and has the highest occupancy rate of any other room and has several loyal repeat guests. Our breakfasts are quality homemade entrees with a portion size that allows our guests to partake in our city’s culinary delights.
Mary Kittrell
General Manager
The Governor’s House Inn
Charleston, South Carolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Governor's House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's House Inn

Address: 117 Broad Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Governor's House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s House Hotel Charleston
Governors Inn Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governor's House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;