We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Christmas Getaway!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King George IV Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King George IV Inn
Save
You added King George IV Inn to your Saves list
32 George Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 43 Charleston B&B and Inns
Maine
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Christmas Getaway!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just leaving Charleston and want to add how delightful and charming this inn is! Especially the owners and Emily and Charlene! We stayed in Room 5, and especially enjoyed the porch attached to the room. We walked almost everywhere from this central location- restaurants, shopping on King Street, and to the market area! The shower in our room was less than ideal - an overhead attachment in a claw-footed tub, and the hot water was temperamental. But it too was charming in its own way! The breakfasts were plentiful with options and the coffee terrific! We loved all of the holiday decorations - beautiful inn!

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    92
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
49
230
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was my husband's and my third time staying at the King George IV and each time we've stayed in a different room -- all are fantastic! This past weekend we stayed in Room 5 which has a small kitchenette with a mini refrigerator which came in handy. The room is excellent in all that it offers and the Inn itself breathes Southern charm throughout. Because we were staying just before Christmas Debra had decorated the entire Inn and each room for the holiday and it was even more beautiful than when we have stayed in the past during the late Spring and Summer. We'll be back!

Room Tip: As mentioned, we've stayed in Rooms 2, 3, and now 5 -- all are wonderful in their own way but of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed one night at the beautiful King George IV Inn. We loved our charming room (Room 2, second floor, facing George Street)--spacious with a very comfortable bed, a unique bath, and everything we needed for a perfect stay! Charlene made us feel very welcome when we arrived and it was nice to meet Terry at breakfast. Great location with great parking. We will most definitely return for another stay here!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in this Inn for two nights with our teenage children. We stayed in 1A (queen room) and our children 1C (queen room with extra room with one small single bed). This building is 220 years old and has charm and character. It is in a good location with free parking at the back of the Inn. The breakfast area was a little room seating 10 people on two tables. Breakfast was nice. You could access the dining room out of hours with your key and have tea/coffee and some nice sweets left on the table each afternoon. The only problem we encountered was the hot water took 8 minutes to heat up and wasn't hot. Old piping and I guess part of the old charm (however my husband wasn't too happy he couldn't have a warm shower). Free wi-fi included which was fantastic for the kids.Now this review would go amiss without mentioning Charlene. This lady runs the Inn. Charlene has warm southern hospitality in her blood and is just friendly and so happy to have a chat and help you out. Just a mention we only saw one of the owners for breakfast on a Sunday morning as this was Charlenes day off. Charlene welcomes you, sorts out your room, cleaned your room and organises breakfast. Amazing lady.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed at the king George the first weekend in nov..Southern charm and hospitality were amzing here.. Terry the owner loves what he does and it shows... And his staff follow suit.. Especially Charlene.. They both made the most delicious breakfast evey morning and were so helpful with sugguestions of places to see and dine while in charleston! Def book this b&b u will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We're local but needed a place just to get away for the evening and the King George Inn fit the bill perfectly. Checked in at 2:30, went home to get ready, went to a movie and then Hall's Chophouse for dinner. It was wonderful treat to be able to walk to the Inn from dinner and enjoy the rest of our evening without having to drive back home.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5. Plenty of space with eat-in kitchen and private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

Whilst this review is very belated as we travelled to King George IV in June, it was essential to write it. I stayed here with my sister and it was a highlight of our american trip. Located right in the centre of Charleston, it was very convenient to get anywhere around the city. The rooms were beautiful and quiant with a unique aspect to each one. The house itself was traditional which added a nice feel to the beautiful city it was located in.

The breakfast was incredible, the owners were very hospitable and would cook us anything that was requested. They also offered to do our laundry as we hadnt had an opportunity to do it prior, even though this is not there usual service.

For the price, it is one of my top recommendations and I would recommend it to couples, families, individuals or anyone who wants to experience the true South Carolina

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King George IV Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George IV Inn

Address: 32 George Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Step into the past and feel the history of Charleston around you." King George IV Inn is a 200-year old (c.1790)historic home. The House is named The "Peter Freneau House", after a prominent Charleston journalist, and Co-owner of the Charleston City Gazette. The Inn is a four-story Federal style house, with Charleston porches over-looking a lovely courtyard. All rooms are furnished with a nice combination of antiques and reproductions. King George IV Inn is located in the heart of the historic district. One minute walk to King Street shopping and dining and only a five minute walk to the historic market. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
King George Iv Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King George IV Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.